The New Smooth & Different Sound


Release Date: 10-13-2023

SKU: 825764160711

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
The New Smooth & Different Sound

1. Product Details

We were like Coca Cola, we were the real things." -Albert Canadien Billed as "Canada's All Indian Band," the Tsimshian Nation garage band The Chieftones stormed the U.S. in the mid-'60s with their own brand of native rock n' roll. Led by guitarists Billy Thunderkloud and Albert Canadien, the band was filled out with Jack Wolf on lead guitar, Barry Clifford on bass, and Richard Douse on drums. Their repertoire was a heady mix of guitar instrumentals; Chet Atkins, Les Paul, Duane Eddy, and Brazil's Los Indios Tabajaras, but through the lens of the American sock hop. After a brief stint at Edmonton's Alberta College, The Chieftones hit the road, eventually setting up a home base in Sheboygan, Wisconsin, where they reportedly worked as ranch hands in between tours. "From Sheboygan we made our way to Madison, Wisconsin, La Crosse, Cedar Rapids and on over to down south, like that. Indianapolis, Peoria, Illinois, Indianapolis, Fort Wayne, South Bend, Indiana back to Chicago," Canadien told Pat Braden. "We had a circuit like that. We played two weeks here, one week there, like that. And finally after a year of doing that, we weren't going anywhere." It was in this nascent state that they tracked a single and an album's worth of material with Jim Kirchstein. More Buddy Holly than Link Wray, The Chieftones lone Cuca single-1966's "Do Lord" b/w "I Shouldn't Have Did What I Done"-expressed the group's radio-friendly ambitions. The rest of their Cuca recordings, however, explore their indigenous roots. Tribal drums keep time under a wash of surf-y guitars. Ceremonial dance numbers are reimagined for the Elvis generation. When the single failed to light up the phones, the album was shelved, discovered only recently by Numero's crack team of magnetic tape sleuths. The New Smooth and Different Sound collects 12 unreleased demos and their sought after Cuca single, all recorded at the Sauk City recording mecca. The group's time in the Dairy State was short-lived-they set off on a decade-long road run shortly after. Performing in their traditional regalia-white buckskin outfits and head gear-The Chieftones dumbed nothing down for The Beach Boys' screaming fans at various sports arenas on the east coast. "After a while we got to speak in our own language, like when we started the show," Canadien said. "I would just speak to them in Slavey and then we'd start our playing. The boys I had talked in Gitsan and Nisgaa, they spoke these languages from northern B.C., that's what they spoke. They introduced themselves in their own language so that people understood that we were for real.

  1. Don't Let It Bother You
  2. Don't Dare
  3. Indian Wedding
  4. You're My Angel
  5. I Need Your Lovin'
  6. I Won't Be Around
  7. Do Lord
  8. I Shouldn't Have Did What I Done
  9. The Sun Is Shining
  10. Ebony Eyes
  11. Just A Closer Walk With Thee
  12. Cutie From the Beauty Shop
  13. You Don't Need Me Anymore
  14. Don't You Leave Me Behind

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline