Scout Gillett: No Roof No Floor - Clear


Release Date: 10-28-2022

SKU: 817949034962

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Scout Gillett: No Roof No Floor - Clear

1. Product Details

"Home" is a tough thing to pinpoint for someone who's constantly in motion. Scout Gillett knows this well, but since relocating from Kansas City in 2017, she's found one in Brooklyn's DIY scene, playing in multiple live bands and even starting her own booking company to organize local shows. Her intrepid nature results from a childhood spent running barefoot through rural Missouri and coming of age in Kansas City's punk scene. Her debut solo album no roof no floor features shades of all her past and present lives: a bold and spirited yet warm, intimate meditation on trust, surrender, and what makes a home. Following the sudden overdose of a lover in 2018 and the onset of the 2020 quarantine, Scout returned to Missouri in search of reprieve. Instead, she was dismayed to find that her hometown was suffering; friends and family members were caught in the grips of drug and alcohol addiction. "Nothing was as I'd remembered," she says. "I felt homesick for a home that no longer seemed to exist." Overcome by grief and helplessness, she retreated inward, channeling her fears and frustrations, as she always had, into songwriting. "I meditated on surrender," she says; "I recited the serenity prayer. I realized that I'd never be able to save anybody but myself." Back in New York in the standstill of the pandemic, she sat with the raw emotion of what she'd written. The songs were more vulnerable than any of her prior work, and it was a while before the notion of sharing them even occurred to her. Then Nick Kinsey, the album's producer, called from his recording studio The Chicken Shack in Stanfordville, New York, and an unmissable opportunity presented itself. Kinsey told Scout that his friends Ellen Kempner (Palehound) and David Lizmi (MS MR) had relocated upstate, and were interested in working on an album with her. It was an intimidating proposition - Scout was a longtime Palehound fan, and she was nervous at the prospect of recording with such established musicians. Never one to stay in one place for too long, though, she set those fears aside. "I woke up and wrote 'trust' on my hand every day I was there. I pushed myself to trust the unknown, and trust that I had a message I was ready to share with people." That trust was rewarded with an album that pulses with life. The sprawling fields, open skies and farm animals upstate felt familiar: "They reminded me of home as I'd remembered it, home without worry." Recorded in a big wooden barn with the doors wide open, there's a sense of spaciousness on no roof no floor befitting it's title. On some songs, there are even audible cricket chirps. The arrangements, too-which feature contributions from Kempner, Lizmi, and Kevin Copeland (The Big Net)-reflect Scout's rural roots and her indie spirit; a fusion of upbeat, guitar-driven melodies and folk/country instrumentation like pedal steel, harmonica, and tenor banjo. All of these elements are underpinned by Scout's signature soaring, velvet vocals and open-hearted lyricism - she sails from a hushed whisper to dulcet spoken word to a cathartic belt with ease. "We did the vocal takes in the pitch black darkness of night in the country, void of light pollution," she remembers. "I stared out at the stars through the open door as if singing to them." Above all, there's a strength in the vulnerability of this record. The pain is on full display - in her mournful declaration "you know I had to go" on "lonesome dove," or the heart-wrenching crescendo on the album's title track - but so is the love. She arrives at her thesis on the haunting six-minute centerpiece "hush, stay quiet": "you can only save yourself," she muses over a resolute guitar. We can't always know what to expect, even in a place we've been before. With a little trust, though, we can find a safe place within. No roof required.

  1. lonesome dove
  2. slow dancin’
  3. no roof no floor
  4. 444 marcy ave.
  5. signal
  6. hush stay quiet
  7. mother of myself
  8. strangers in silence
  9. western eyes
  10. crooked

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline