Richard Barbieri: Variants 1+2


Release Date: 01-18-2019

SKU: 802644801216

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Richard Barbieri: Variants 1+2

1. Product Details

New To Vinyl Release Of The Variants Series From The Japan And Porcupine Tree Keyboardist. Including Live Recordings From The Planets + Persona Concerts And New Material In 2017, Richard Barbieri released his most sonically expansive work to date. 'Planets + Persona' is his third solo album, but the first to feature such a wide pallet of instrumentation. Vintage analogue synthesisers combined with acoustic performances and jazz elements, including some stark and memorable improvisations from a personally hand-picked group of musicians, a release that has been well received by a dedicated and growing fan base. 'Variants.1+2' is the first 2LP to be released in a series presenting a collection of disparate pieces of music from past and current works. It features live performances with guest musicians, new compositions, improvisations and reworkings of older material including a 2009 instrumental version of the Japan B-Side "The Experience Of Swimming". As an ex-founder of the new-wave pioneers Japan, Barbieri was a leader in creating the ground-breaking synthesiser sound that defined the band and influenced the likes of The Human League, Duran Duran, Gary Numan, Talk Talk and a whole raft of artists to follow. Together, the band recorded five studio albums culminating in the ground-breaking 'Tin Drum', which stayed in the UK Albums Chart for a year. Following Japan, Barbieri joined Steven Wilson in the formative years of the legendary progressive outfit Porcupine Tree, playing keyboards on all the band's albums since 1993 as well as releasing two striking solo albums: 'Things Buried' and 'Stranger Inside'. His ear for composing unique soundscapes and synth textures recently led to collaborations with other talented composers, such as Steve Hogarth (Marillion) Steve Jansen & Mick Karn (Japan) and Steven Wilson. Presented on 180g heavyweight vinyl in a gatefold sleeve and features a new live photo print.

  1. Hybrid (06:00)
  2. Only Passing Through (05:50)
  3. The Experience Of Swimming (2009) (05:06)
  4. New Found Land (Live 2017) (08:37)
  5. Spacing Of Strands (Live improv 2017) (07:25)
  6. Frozen Hearts Of Hollywood (09:45)
  7. Rime (06:29)
  8. 1.Night Of The Hunter Part 2
  9. (Live at St. Margaret's Church of Antioch Sept 2017) (06:55)
  10. Antioch
  11. (Live at St. Margaret's Church of Antioch Sept 2017) (05:01)
  12. Hypnotek
  13. (Live at St. Margaret's Church of Antioch Sept 2017) (09:32)

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline