Pony: Velveteen


Release Date: 06-30-2023

SKU: 605491109241

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Pony: Velveteen

1. Product Details

Amidst the isolation of the past 2+ years, Pony's Sam Bielanski and their partner Matty Morand transformed themselves into songwriting machines. Thanks in part to their pandemic podcast project, 2 Much TV, which challenged themselves to write a new song every single week, they wrote over 100 new original songs - finding inspiration from hours of television, books, and self reflection, and constantly sharpening their songwriting tools with every new melody. The result is the band's second full-length studio album, Velveteen, featuring some of their most vulnerable to-date - 10 new stories about deep connection or longing for it, and embracing true authenticity, all wrapped in easily consumable pop hooks and infectious melodies. "For me I have learned that we become our most authentic selves when we allow ourselves to be open and deeply affected by someone else" says Bielanski, reflecting on the songwriting process that also corresponded with a 9 month-long struggle with insomnia that also inspired the album's title. "I listened to an audio book of the velveteen rabbit every night until I fell asleep. I became obsessed with the story but I never listened all the way through. The way I eventually interpreted the story was that it's the love that we give and receive that makes us real or whole. The one chapter I found especially heart wrenching is when the velveteen rabbit is trying to hang with the real rabbits of the forest, and through comparison he realizes he isn't as real as he thought he was. It was a good lesson for me even now because I'm constantly fighting the urge to compare myself to others. Your individual experiences make you who you are and nothing can change that. That's what I thought, until I finally listened to the entirety of the story and found out that at the end of the book a fairy turns the velveteen rabbit into an actual rabbit and then I got really confused." The songwriting process for this record was different from any other time Pony had recorded music in the past. Bielanski was stuck inside, had a bad neighbor, and was forced to write music in absolute silence. "I made a lot of the demos for this record on garageband on my phone, often singing into my headphone mic inside the closet so as to not disturb anyone. Once I was happy with the songs Matty would add their contributions until we felt the songs were nearly done. It was amazing to see how much the songs would change every time a new person was added into the mix. It wasn't until we recorded them with [recording engineer] Alex Gamble that the songs truly came to life for me. I guess Alex was the fairy who made Velveteen real."

  1. TRÈS Jolie
  2. Peach
  3. Sick
  4. Sucker Punch
  5. Haunted House
  6. Who's Calling
  7. Did It Again
  8. French Class
  9. Sunny Rose
  10. Haircut

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline