Northern Belle: Bats In The Attic


Release Date: 03-08-2024

SKU: 7041889514281

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Northern Belle: Bats In The Attic

1. Product Details

Life, death, and a pile of 60-year-old letters provide the foundation for the new The Northern Belle album. Bats in the Attic, the band’s fifth album, cements the bands status as frontrunners on the nordicana scene. Simultaneously, the new material incorporates a diverse mix of styles, from Cardigans-type pop, via southern rock, to frail indie ballads. Everything executed with the musical finesse the band is known for.

After having released two successful and well-received albums during the pandemic years, without being able to tour properly, the band members’ urge to play live was intense. This drive was cultivated in the studio, where they aimed to recreate the potency of their live shows.

Bandleader and songwriter Stine Andreassen took inspiration from 379 letters sent from her grandfather, when he was at sea and stationed abroad, to her grandmother back home in northern Norway. The album title and several of the songs refer to these letters, which stayed hidden in an attic for 30 years following the grandfather’s passing. Other songs on the album concern Andreassen’s experience of becoming a mother for the first time – the creation of life – while others again deal with the opposite, the loss of close friends.

The Northern Belle’s released their self-title debut album in 2015. The sophomore album Blinding Blue Neon (2018) was nominated for a Spellemann award (Norwegian Grammy). We Wither, We Bloom (2020) was their first international release and received praise from heavyweights such as Popmatters, American Songwriter and NPR: All Songs Considered. A cover version of Sufjan Stevens’ “Chicago” from The Women in Me (2021), recorded with Darling West, Ida Jenshus, Louien, Malin Pettersen and Signe Marie Rustad, further amplified the buzz around the band, resulting in a magical performance on Lindmo, Norway’s biggest TV talk show.

The Northern Belle are Stine Andreassen (vocals, guitars), Bjørnar Ekse Brandseth (guitars, pedal steel), Johanne Flottorp (hardanger fiddle, harmonies), Trym Gjermundbo (drums), Ole-André Sjøgren (guitars, harmonies) and Marie Tveiten (guitars, harmonies). The band obviously had a good time in the studio, which shines through in their incomparable folk, and americana-inspired pop, laden with gorgeous harmonies, pedal steel and the unique hardanger fiddle. Helping them out in the studio, were Snorre Kiil Saga (Karpe) on bass and Solveig Wang (Fieh, Nothing Personal) on keys. Marcus Forsgren produced the record, with the band as co-producers.


  1. Astral Plane
  2. Treat Yourself Better
  3. Merchant Navy Hotel
  4. Higher Power
  5. Stargazer
  6. Fresh Dew Drippin’
  7. Our Own Frequency
  8. Japanese
  9. Hell ; Back
  10. Even Dylan Can't Make This Right
  11. Grow Up

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline