Mother of God: Anthropos


Release Date: 05-14-2013

SKU: 709764113413

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Mother of God: Anthropos

1. Product Details

'Woke up at dawn and felt a presence, nature spirits, observing me. Looked out through the window. Black shape. I went to the nearby forest and the journey had begun. Without a direct way, I went through the woods and crossed mountains. Suddenly elated by light, I was under the raven's wings. Numb. Awakened by a thud and the silhouettes of the three. Embrace. The circle was complete. ' - Mother of God Born in 2008 and raised on rock in Morgardshammar, Sweden, the four-piece Mother of God cast off a lot of the retro '70s mentality of their countrymen in favor of a more modern approach. Well, 20 years more modern, anyway. Mother of God no doubt have some appreciation for the finer things in '70s rock - there are beards to prove it - but musically they incorporate influences from grunge and the heavy grooves of the early '90s. Bands like Soundgarden and Alice in Chains mesh their downtrodden grunge melodies alongside classic inspiration drawn from Black Sabbath and Led Zeppelin. These might sound like familiar elements - at least the names ring out - but Mother of God bring their own emotional spin to their Small Stone debut, Anthropos, and never quite cooperate with what you think they'll do next. The band has released two prior EPs - 2011's Forging a New Path and their debut - and they recorded and mixed Anthropos in Borlange with Erik Nerback, Chris Goosman mastered, and Sanna Albenius, Robin Gnista and Alexander von Wieding provided art and layout design. In addition to festival appearances at Getaway Rock, Wacken Open Air in Germany and Peace & Love, Mother of God have shared the stage with YOB, Dozer, Graveyard, Imperial State Electric and more, and they'll look to continue their live domination in Scandinavia and beyond in support of Anthropos, shoving their eclectic sound and undeniable hooks right in the faces of everyone who thinks they know what heavy rock should sound like.

  1. Soul Shoutin' - Shirley Scott
  2. Collard Greens - Freddie McCoy
  3. Tengo Tango - Cannonball Adderley Sextet
  4. Why Don't You Do Right? - Mark Murphy
  5. Money's Gettin' Cheaper - Jimmy Witherspoon
  6. Step Out and Git It - the Nomos
  7. Theme from "The Carpetbaggers" - Brother Jack McDuff with the Big Band of Benny Golson
  8. Theme from N.Y.P.D. (The ABC TV Series) - Johnny "Hammond" Smith
  9. Whip It on Me - Billy Hawks
  10. Evil Ways - Cal Tjader
  11. Yeh Yeh! - Mongo Santamaria
  12. Watermelon Man - Mongo Santamaria
  13. The Seventh Son - Mose Allison
  14. I'm Ready - Otis Spann
  15. Pool Shark - Willis Jackson
  16. Soul Shack - Sonny Stitt
  17. Filthy McNasty - Eddie Jefferson
  18. Love Me Right - Jimmy Witherspoon
  19. I've Got Your Number - Pat Bowie
  20. Black Talk - Charles Earland
  21. Mama Rufus - the Merced Blue Notes
  22. Soul Liberation - Rusty Bryant
  23. Games - Boogaloo "Joe" Jones
  24. Kenny's Theme - Kenny Burrell
  25. Theme from "The Pink Panther" - Brother Jack McDuff with the Big Band of Benny Golson

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline