McDonald & Giles: Mcdonald & Giles - 200gm Vinyl


Release Date: 11-03-2023

SKU: 633367795717

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
McDonald & Giles: Mcdonald & Giles - 200gm Vinyl

1. Product Details

Cut from a transfer of the original masters for the first time since 1970. Mastered by Jason Mitchell at Loud Mastering. Pressed on 200gram Super-Heavyweight vinyl at Vinyl Factory UK. Official vinyl release. The shock of King Crimson's arrival, ascendancy and transatlantic success - all in a period of just under a year - carried within it the seeds of the line-up's implosion in December of 1969 when Ian McDonald and Michael Giles left the band. Taking up the option to record an album as a duo - with Michael's brother Peter taking the role as bass guitarist - the eponymous album was recorded in the summer of 1970 and released in the UK in November of that year. It was and remains a minor classic of the late British Underground era - an album that could only come from that particular time and place and, very obviously, an album that was always intended as just that - a studio construct with no evidence that it was ever imagined as music that could or might be played on the 1970 gig circuit - (though some of the material would be performed more than thirty years later in 2002 by the 21st Century Schizoid Band). Inevitably perhaps, there was some continued crossover with King Crimson activities - both Michael and Peter played on the Jan/April sessions for Crimson's "In the Wake of Poseidon" prior to the recording and Peter Sinfield contributed lyrics for side 2 of McDonald & Giles' 'Birdman'. Inevitable also, that some material had a shared lineage with KC, most notably in 'Flight of the Ibis', as it was the original melody for what became 'Cadence and Cascade'. But if Mike's instantly recognisable drum sound and position as that generation's most gifted drummer and Ian's skills as a multi-instrumentalist and composer were, by this point, established, the considerable charm of the record comes from the different direction in which the duo took some of the familiarities from their earlier shared band - both compositionally and in arrangements - the vocal harmonies on Birdman more reminiscent of late Giles, Giles and Fripp, the expanded sound coming - not from a mellotron but from full string and brass sections, Steve Winwood's piano and organ solo sound on the 'Turnham Green' section of album opener 'Suite in C' would be instantly familiar to anyone who had heard the July 1970 released "John Barleycorn Must Die" album and the overall album had a gentler, more wistful, autumnal sound than anything Crimson would record. Although not a huge success when initially released, the album became a cult favourite and garnered a broader following over the ensuing years to the point where it is now much better known than it was in 1970/71. The original stereo masters to the album - along with the original multi-track tapes - were returned to the control of the artists in late 2021. This is the first official release of the album on vinyl in decades & the first time since 1970 that the album has been cut from the original masters

  1. Suite In C; Including Turnham Green Here I Am And Others
  2. Flight Of The Ibis
  3. Is She Waiting?
  4. Tomorrow’s People - The Children Of Today
  5. Birdman; Involving
  6. The Inventor’s Dream (O.U.A.T.)
  7. The Workshop
  8. Wishbone Ascension
  9. Birdman Flies!
  10. Wings In The Sunset
  11. Birdman - The Reflection

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline