Lonnie Mack: Sa-Ba-Holla! Two Sides Of Lonnie Mack - Fraternity Recordings 1963-1967


Release Date: 05-07-2021

SKU: 029667012010

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Lonnie Mack: Sa-Ba-Holla! Two Sides Of Lonnie Mack - Fraternity Recordings 1963-1967

1. Product Details

When Lonnie Mack's treatment of Chuck Berry's 'Memphis' broke into the US Hot 100 on 8 June 1963 and peaked at #5 during it's 13-week stay, he was initially pigeonholed as an instrumental artist. This perception was heightened by 'Down In The Dumps' on the flip, and furthered by his double-sided instrumental follow-up whose topside, 'Wham!', reached #28. Six months later the other side of Lonnie was revealed with his first vocal 45. The topside was a dynamic re-vamp of Jimmy Reed's 'Baby, What's Wrong', backed with a version of the gospel classic 'Where There's A Will'. Here you could hear him emoting in a way white singers never did - hollering, pleading and screaming in the very finest gospel tradition. The track was even picked up by some black radio stations in the south, but quietly dropped once it was realised that Lonnie was white. 'Memphis' was recorded at King Records Studio in Cincinnati on 12 March 1963. Carl Edmondson had been booked to produce a split session for Max Falcon, Kenny Smith and the Charmaines, but Edmondson's band had recently broken up, so Lonnie and his crew were drafted in. With some time left at the end of the session, Lonnie was asked if he had anything he might like to record. 'Memphis' was the result. Edmondson thought the track had potential and suggested to Fraternity Records boss, Harry Carlson, that he should put it out. Within weeks it was climbing the charts, launching Lonnie's long career. Post-Fraternity releases on Elektra, Capitol, Epic and Alligator cemented his reputation as the man who brought gospel, soul, blues, country and rock'n'roll together. He was one of the creators of blue-eyed soul, as well as the leading light for the legion of blues-based rock guitarists who plied their trade from the 60s onwards. It has to be said, though, that the bedrock of his legend rests on his Fraternity recordings, which highlighted both sides of Lonnie Mack - the vocalist and the guitarist.

  1. Sa-Ba-Hoola
  2. Lonnie On The Move (Take 2)
  3. Wham!
  4. Memphis
  5. Omaha
  6. Honky Tonk ’65
  7. Tension (Part 1)
  8. Oh I Apologize
  9. Save Your Money
  10. Baby What’s Wrong
  11. Where There’s A Will
  12. I’ll Keep You Happy
  13. No More Pain
  14. I’ve Had It

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline