Jim Lauderdale: The Long and Lonesome Letting Go


Release Date: 06-21-2024

SKU: 843563168509

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Jim Lauderdale: The Long and Lonesome Letting Go

1. Product Details

Whether as co-writer, bandleader, master of ceremonies or musical ambassador for musical styles or states, Jim Lauderdale has been one of Americana music's all-time great collaborators. And his new album with the Po' Ramblin' Boys, "The Long and Lonesome Letting Go," stands as one of the best collaborative works in his 36-album discography. "Po' Ramblin' Boys just really speak to and resonate with me," says Lauderdale. "I hear so much of the great traditional bluegrass sound in them and it makes me so happy to see a younger band of their generation carrying the style forward so well. They're all so great in what they all do, both individually and as a performing band. I've always been blown away by them, so I was just very excited that they were interested in collaborating with me." Based in Nashville, Po' Ramblin' Boys first crossed paths with Lauderdale at the annual MerleFest festival in North Carolina a few years back, when they asked him to sit in on their set on the festival's Hillside Stage. Lauderdale returned the favor the following year, bringing Po' Ramblin' Boys out for his show on the Cabin Stage. They kept crossing paths at other festivals, too, finally deciding to move ahead with a record. It was a dream gig for all the Po' Ramblin' Boys, but especially mandolinist C.J. Lewandowski - a fan since he started seeing Lauderdale shows while growing up in Missouri. "When he came to ask about making an album, we were seriously blown away," says Lewandowski. "It was really validating - Jim Lauderdale calling US to do a bluegrass album, we must be doing something right. He's good at everything, just being himself and he fits into so well into so many different genres, but especially bluegrass." Lauderdale co-wrote all 12 songs on the album, half of them with Po' Ramblin' Boys guitarist Josh Rinkel, and they're all classic old-school bluegrass with excellent ensemble arrangements. Lauderdale and Rinkel worked on their co-writes in a number of sessions, starting with "I'm Only So Good" - which concludes, "at being good." Like most Lauderdale co-writes, it grew organically out of a conversation. "We got together and got to talking, and Josh mentioned a situation that was tempting him," Lauderdale recalls. "And he said, 'I'm only so good at being good.' It kind of wrote itself from there, and that set the course for us to co-write six of these songs." Other co-writers include 10-time IBMA Award winner Becky Buller, North Carolina old soul Joe Newberry, well-traveled producer/songwriter Jimmy Ritchey, and rising young guns Logan Ledger and Alex Leach. Also of note is the song that kicks off the album, the title track, co-written with Bob Minner - and featuring Lauderdale trading verses with Bluegrass Hall of Famer Del McCoury. It's the first time they've ever recorded together. "I felt like that song ought to kick off the record, and somebody in Po' Ramblin' Boys said, 'You know, Del would sound great on this,'" Lauderdale says. "Of course! So we reached out and luckily he was available. It didn't feel right to just have him on the chorus, so he and I switch off a few lines in the verses. I'd never gotten to record with Del before, so that was a real treat."

  1. Long and Lonesome Letting Go (2:43)
  2. She's on a Different Train (2:31)
  3. I'm Only So Good at Being Good (4:13)
  4. You Fell Off the Face of the Earth (2:51)
  5. Last Resort
  6. Ghost of a Rose (3:51)
  7. Darkness Is the Other Side of Light (2:41)
  8. If I Could Only Get My Heart to See (2:20)
  9. That Was When We Were Together (2:40)
  10. A Better Place (2:36)
  11. She's the Light (3:31)
  12. Drop the Hammer Down (2:35)

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline