Generation X: Generation X


Release Date: 04-26-2019

SKU: 5060516092291

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Generation X: Generation X

1. Product Details

Deluxe vinyl LP pressing. Chrysalis Records are proud to release a deluxe edition of Generation X's debut album from 1978. Formed in late 1976 by Billy Idol, Tony James and Derwood Andrews with Mark Laff joining in early 1977. They signed to Chrysalis in the Summer of 1977, with their first single 'Your Generation' being released in the September. Incidentally, they were one of the first punk bands to appear on the BBC TV's Top of The Pops, followed closely with subsequent singles 'Wild Youth' and 'Ready Steady Go'. Their debut album 'Generation X' produced by Martin Rushent (The Stranglers, Buzzcocks, Human League), was released in February 1978, reaching number 29 in the UK charts. This expanded deluxe edition vinyl box set has been newly remastered and cut from the original production tapes and includes 11 previously unreleased recordings. LP1 contains the original UK 11 track album, LP2 includes all the A and B-sides of their singles from the period and LP3 contains 11 previously unreleased outtakes, a single mix and several mixes made by engineer Alan Winstanley (Madness, Elvis Costello, Morrissey). Housed in a rigid slipcase with previously unseen photos and newly commissioned sleeve notes by journalist Adrian Thrills.

  1. Your Generation (2019 Remaster)
  2. Day By Day (2019 Remaster)
  3. Wild Youth (2019 Remaster)
  4. Wild Dub (Version / 2019 Remaster)
  5. No No No (2019 Remaster)
  6. Trying for Kicks (2019 Remaster)
  7. This Heat (2019 Remaster)
  8. Ready Steady Go (Phil Wainman Version / 2019 Remaster)
  9. No No No (Phil Wainman Version / 2019 Remaster)
  10. Gimme Some Truth (Outtake / 2019 Remaster)
  11. Rock on Dub (Outtake / 2019 Remaster)
  12. Promises Promises (Single Version / 2019 Remaster)
  13. From the Heart (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  14. Invisible Man (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  15. Kleenex (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  16. Day By Day (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  17. One Hundred Punks (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  18. Too Personal (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)
  19. Youth Youth Youth (Winstanley Mix / 2019 Remaster)

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline