David Longdon: Wild River - Yellow & Green Vinyl


Release Date: 10-20-2023

SKU: 5060164400745

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
David Longdon: Wild River - Yellow & Green Vinyl

1. Product Details

Wild River', the first solo album from David Longdon, the late lead singer of Big Big Train, has been re-mixed, re-mastered and expanded. It is preceded by a single 'Always', which is available now. Wild River' was originally self-released in 2004 and at that time only a minimal quantity of CDs were produced. Whilst it was briefly available via the Big Big Train website, it has long been out of print. David had always intended to re-mix and repackage it. However, his sudden death in November 2021 meant that his plan never came to fruition. In a final act of remembrance by his long-time colleague Rob Aubrey, Big Big Train's engineer since 1994, David's wishes have now been fulfilled. The album packaging has also been re-designed by Longdon's friend and collaborator Steve Vantsis. Sarah Ewing, David's partner, recalls why he was so keen to revisit 'Wild River'. "David was really proud of those songs," she says. "He produced and engineered the album himself, but always felt that the recording, the production and the mix never quite met his expectations. Over the years he became much more skilled at his craft, and had he been alive now, he would have been able to deliver the album the way he always wanted it to be. He'd also always wanted to improve the cover art, but at the time he'd spent all his money on the recording and mixing. " 'Wild River' represented a transitional period for David, both artistically and emotionally. His father, Eric, had passed away in 1994, he had been through a divorce, and he'd auditioned to be the lead singer of Genesis following the departure of Phil Collins. However, after a protracted audition-cum-rehearsal process, he was immensely disappointed to lose out on the role. Which, with hindsight, was a blessing in disguise. Around this time, XTC guitarist Dave Gregory was playing a session where he first met David. Between XTC projects, Gregory had been recording a version of the Genesis epic 'Supper's Ready' and David, a big XTC fan, offered to sing on it, adding, "I really need to do this. " Gregory was astonished at how quickly David recorded the vocal parts: "Soup to nuts in an afternoon and an evening. " Rather than accepting payment for the session, David invited Gregory to play guitar and Mellotron on the work-in-progress 'Wild River'. Gregory recalls, "The Genesis experience galvanised him. He was saying, 'Look, this is what I can do. And I'm gonna f*cking show you'. That was a huge motivation for him. He felt rejected, so had to work a lot harder. "Big Big Train's sound engineer and David's friend Rob Aubrey was asked to remix the album earlier this year. "It still fills me with sadness that he's gone, but 'Wild River' needed to be made available again as it is such a strong album. " The last word on 'Wild River' goes to Sarah: "I don't think it sounds like an album that's 20 years old; it sounds very immediate and contemporary and that speaks of David's talent," says Ewing. "It's hard for me to be objective, but I hear the younger David and in that regard it's a beautiful time capsule. "The vinyl formats of the album feature four songs recorded live in 2004, while the CD format features nine live songs. The vinyl and CD formats all feature a bonus studio track not available on the 2004 edition of the album, while the CD format also includes an extended version of one song from the studio recordings.

  1. Always
  2. Honey Trap
  3. Mandy
  4. About Time
  5. Vertigo
  6. Side 2
  7. Wild River
  8. Loving ; Giving
  9. In Essence
  10. This House
  11. Joely
  12. Falling Down to Earth
  13. On to the Headland
  14. Beyond Belief
  15. Every Silver Lining (Live)
  16. April Fool (Live)
  17. Can I Come with You? (Live)
  18. Pipe Dream (Live)

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline