Cat Stevens: Mona Bone Jakon (Super Deluxe Edition)


Release Date: 12-04-2020

SKU: 602508395178

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Cat Stevens: Mona Bone Jakon (Super Deluxe Edition)

1. Product Details

April 1970 Island Records saw the release of ‘Mona Bone Jakon’. The album represents one of the most profound artistic metamorphoses of the 20th Century: the cleanly shaven Carnaby Street pop-star incarnation of Cat Stevens, who brought us ‘I Love My Dog’ and ‘Matthew & Son,’ fades into the mist of a bygone era, emerging from the shadows as a new man, musician, and authentic lyrical master of metaphor, whose songs would help define a new genre for a generation of music lovers, and pave the way for a poignan

Inspired by a near-fatal battle with TB and extended period of convalescence during which he studied classical music, metaphysical literature and meditative self-reflection, Mona Bone Jakon is equal parts painful torment, self-referential humour and spiritual awakening. It is deeply revealing of the man he was becoming and the journey he was embarking on that would last a lifetime. Through its stunning and often overlooked crop of songs we encounter an artist who has discovered himself but is unsure of whet

Marking the start of a long-running creative partnership with producer (and former Yardbird) Paul Samwell-Smith, the album includes the deeply Romantic “Lady D’Arbanville”, The spiritually uplifting ‘I Think I See The Light’, the tongue-in-cheek ‘Pop Star’ and the heart-rendering ‘Trouble’ – which has connected with many a tormented soul including Elliott Smith, Chris Cornell and John Frusciante who have all covered the song.

50 years on, the songs on ‘Mona Bone Jakon’ still sound as fresh as the day they were recorded. Presented here in a new 2020 Remastered version on CD, and a new 2020 Mix by David Hefti on CD and LP, the Super Deluxe Edition also includes an exclusive third CD of previously unreleased studio material, and a fourth CD featuring 18 live performances from 1970/71. The 2020 remaster was completed at Abbey Road Studios, and was overseen by original album producer, Paul Samwell-Smith.

This 50th anniversary set is completed with a live 12” etched vinyl E.P. of the rare audience recording of “Live At Plumpton Jazz & Blues Festival” from August, 1970, and with a BluRay disc featuring the original promo video of “Lady D’Arbanville”, plus eight live TV performances, and the HD audio of the new Mona Bone Jakon 2020 Mix. There’s also a selection of memorabilia including Island Records press kit, two Island press photos, a replica 1970 Plumpton Jazz and Blues flyer, a Cat Stevens tour sticker an

Mona Bone Jakon (Super Deluxe Edition)

  1. DISC TiTLE: CD1 (Original Album Remixed) DISC TiTLE:
  2. Lady D’Arbanville
  3. Maybe You’re Right
  4. Pop Star
  5. I Think I See The Light
  6. Trouble
  7. Mona Bone Jakon
  8. I Wish I Wish
  9. Katmandu
  10. Time
  11. Fill My Eyes
  12. Lilywhite
  13. DISC TiTLE: 2CD (Original Album Remastered)
  14. Lady D’Arbanville
  15. Maybe You’re Right
  16. Pop Star
  17. I Think I See The Light
  18. Trouble
  19. Mona Bone Jakon
  20. I Wish I Wish
  21. Katmandu
  22. Time
  23. Fill My Eyes
  24. Lilywhite
  25. DISC TiTLE: CD3 (Demos + Outtakes)
  26. Maybe You’re Right (Studio Demo)
  27. I Think I See The Light (Studio Demo)
  28. Trouble (Studio Demo)
  29. Mona Bone Jakon (Home Demo)
  30. I Wish I Wish (Studio Demo)
  31. Katmandu (Studio Demo)
  32. Time (Studio Demo)
  33. Fill My Eyes (Studio Demo)
  34. I Want Some Sun (Studio Demo)
  35. DISC TiTLE: CD4 (Live)
  36. Interview (Live At The BBC (16.06.70)
  37. Lady D’Arbanville (Live At The BBC (16.06.70)
  38. Maybe You’re Right (Cat Stevens In Concert 27.11.1971)
  39. Trouble (Live At The BBC (16.06.70)
  40. Katmandu (Live At The BBC (16.06.70)
  41. Changes IV (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70)
  42. Time / Fill My Eyes )Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70)
  43. Where Do The Children Play (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70
  44. Lady D'Arbanville (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70)
  45. Maybe You're Right (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70)
  46. Father ; Son (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70)
  47. Lady D’Arbanville (BEATCLUB (GERMANY) 25.08.70)
  48. Lady D’Arbanville (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  49. Maybe You’re Right (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  50. Katmandu (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  51. Interview (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  52. Lady D’Arbanville (DEUX SUR LA 2 (FRANCE) 12.10.70)
  53. Maybe You’re Right (POP DEUX (FRANCE) 27.02.1971)
  54. DISC TiTLE: Blu Ray
  55. Lady D’Arbanville (Official Video)
  56. Lady D’Arbanville (BEATCLUB (GERMANY) 25.08.70)
  57. Lady D’Arbanville (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  58. Maybe You’re Right (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  59. Katmandu (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  60. Interview (TV CONCERT (FRANCE) 01.11.1970)
  61. Lady D’Arbanville (DEUX SUR LA 2 (FRANCE) 12.10.70)
  62. Maybe You’re Right (POP DEUX (FRANCE) 27.02.1971)
  63. Maybe You’re Right (Cat Stevens In Concert 27.11.1971)
  64. DISC TiTLE: 12" (Live at Plumpton Jazz ; Blues Festival (08.08.70))
  65. Changes IV
  66. Time / Fill My Eyes
  67. Where Do The Children Play
  68. Lady D'Arbanville
  69. Maybe You're Right
  70. Father ; Son

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline