Bob Dylan: Travelin' Thru, Featuring Johnny Cash: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 15


Release Date: 11-01-2019

SKU: 190759819210

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Bob Dylan: Travelin' Thru, Featuring Johnny Cash: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 15

1. Product Details

Travelin' Thru, Featuring Johnny Cash: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 15 - The latest installment in the long-running Bootleg series covers Dylan’s journey to Nashville between 1967 and 1970. It includes recordings from the John Wesley Harding, Nashville Skyline and Self Portrait sessions and over 20 tracks from the legendary sessions with Johnny Cash. 50 tracks on 3 LP's – over 40 previously unreleased.

The Bootleg Series Vol. 15: Travelin’ Thru showcases never-before-heard recordings from Bob Dylan’s journey to Nashville—including his cherished collaboration with Johnny Cash.

While Dylan had recorded in Nashville once before in sessions that would form part of 1966’s Blonde On Blonde, things had changed considerably when he came back to record a year and a half later—his first session since suffering a motorcycle accident that took him out of the public eye. On John Wesley Harding, Dylan worked more methodically than before; the seven alternate takes from the album featured here find Dylan fitting his songs’ rhythms to match their lyrics.

Returning in to Nashville in 1969, Dylan shifted even more toward the sound of country music on Nashville Skyline, even adopting a distinctive croon in his singing voice. “Lay Lady Lay,” “Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You” and “I Threw It All Away” still rank among the most treasured entries in Dylan’s songwriting canon.

A key participant in the Nashville Skyline sessions was Johnny Cash, who’d previously covered Dylan’s “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right,” leading to a deep mutual respect between the two musical legends. Though Cash appeared on only one song on Nashville Skyline, “Girl From The North Country” (and also penned the LP’s Grammy Award-winning liner notes), Travelin’ Thru features 25 previously unreleased tracks featuring Dylan and Cash in the studio. Highlights include takes on several of Cash’s most recognizable hits (“I Walk The Line,” “Ring Of Fire”), covers of Jimmie Rodgers and Carl Perkins (“Matchbox,” featuring Perkins himself on guitar) and a unique medley of “Don’t Think Twice, It’s All Right” and Cash’s “Understand Your Man.” A month after Nashville Skyline was released, Dylan made his first live TV appearance in five years on The Johnny Cash Show; that performance is also included here, as are two Cash covers (“Ring Of Fire,” “Folsom Prison Blues”) recorded during the sessions to Self Portrait.

Travelin’ Thru closes with a 1970 collaboration between Dylan and famed banjo player Earl Scruggs. Recorded in upstate New York for a PBS special on Scruggs, this informal session features renditions of Dylan’s “Nashville Skyline Rag” and others.

Travelin' Thru, Featuring Johnny Cash: The Bootleg Series, Vol. 15

  1. John Wesley Harding Sessions - Alternate Versions
  2. Drifter's Escape - Take 1
  3. I Dreamed I Saw St. Augustine - Take 2
  4. All Along the Watchtower - Take 3
  5. John Wesley Harding - Take 1
  6. As I Went Out One Morning - Take 1
  7. I Pity the Poor Immigrant - Take 4
  8. I Am a Lonesome Hobo - Take 4
  9. Nashville Skyline Sessions - Alternate Versions and Outtake
  10. I Threw It All Away - Take 1*
  11. To Be Alone with You - Take 1
  12. Lay Lady Lay - Take 2*
  13. One More Night - Take 2
  14. Western Road - Take 1
  15. Peggy Day - Take 1
  16. Tell Me That It Isn't True - Take 2
  17. Country Pie - Take 2
  18. The Bob Dylan - Johnny Cash Sessions
  19. I Still Miss Someone - Take 5
  20. Don't Think Twice It's All Right/Understand Your Man - Rehearsal
  21. One Too Many Mornings - Take 3
  22. Mountain Dew - Take 1
  23. Mountain Dew - Take 2
  24. I Still Miss Someone - Take 2
  25. Careless Love - Take 1
  26. Matchbox - Take 1
  27. That's All Right Mama - Take 1
  28. Mystery Train/This Train Is Bound for Glory - Take 1
  29. Big River - Take 1
  30. Girl from the North Country - Rehearsal
  31. Girl from the North Country - Take 1
  32. I Walk the Line - Take 2
  33. Guess Things Happen That Way - Rehearsal
  34. Guess Things Happen That Way - Take 3
  35. Five Feet High and Rising - Take 1
  36. You Are My Sunshine - Take 1
  37. Ring of Fire - Take 1
  38. The Bob Dylan - Johnny Cash Sessions
  39. Studio Chatter
  40. Wanted Man - Take 1
  41. Amen - Rehearsal
  42. Just a Closer Walk with Thee - Take 1
  43. Jimmie Rodgers Medley No. 1 - Take 1
  44. Jimmie Rodgers Medley No. 2 - Take 2
  45. Live on the Johnny Cash Show
  46. I Threw It All Away
  47. Living the Blues
  48. Girl from the North Country (Duet with Johnny Cash)
  49. Self Portrait Sessions - Outtakes
  50. Ring of Fire
  51. Folsom Prison Blues
  52. With Earl Scruggs
  53. Earl Scruggs Interview
  54. East Virginia Blues
  55. To Be Alone with You
  56. Honey Just Allow Me One More Chance
  57. Nashville Skyline Rag*

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline