Behavior: Spirits & Embellishments


Release Date: 10-18-2019

SKU: 656605345789

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Behavior: Spirits & Embellishments

1. Product Details

Behavior is a band from Los Angeles, comprised since 2012 of Bedros Yeretzian, Evan Burrows, and Justin Tenney. Their collaboration is a shifting ad hoc agreement, organized around a permissive sensibility that is anchored to consistency of image rather than genre myopia. Their music continues to map a line of departure, a stumbling movement in restless hopscotch across a pop music tradition that has tallied an unlivable inheritance of promises. Spirits & Embellishments is their third LP, and their first with the label Post Present Medium, which is newly revived after a short pause. The record is preceded by last year's self-released EP Shithead Apology, and two LPs- Bitter Bitter (2017) and 375 Images of Angels (2016), both of which were released on the seminal West Coast punk label Iron Lung Records. Spirits & Embellishments was written in a small, shared practice space in Los Angeles, rented at a cost of $139.34 per month. The lyrics were compiled and composed collaboratively on a shared document hosted on a proprietary cloud- an assembled repository of original and found language, a record of the intellectual and emotional meanderings of three different people over a limited period of time. Spirits & Embellishments features guest Side A performances by Evan Backer, Sophie Weil, Nicole Antonia Spagnola and Robert Cody. The album was recorded and mixed over roughly five days by Greg Hartunian, Robert Cody and Behavior at Tropico Beauty in Glendale, CA. Spirits & Embellishments is a brush fire, hungry for oxygen, choking the dry air with lavender, sage, and melting plastic. The tools are simple, the atmosphere is stark, the space is literal. These are tactile rock n roll songs, shaped at root by the extreme techniques of punk in all it's groping permutations. These songs are lengths of multichrome climbing rope coiled like snakes, brought to life by way of melodrama, and contemporary in their free association. They were conceived with irreverence for the distinction between Crass and The Rolling Stones, to leverage the evaporating space of antagonism between first wave post-punk and it's commercially unambivalent counterparts. The method was ultimately functional: rounding and smearing over the vacant face of rote angularity, leaning into craft in an attempt to outmode what's simply been accounted for. There's a desire for tension, a desire for fraudulent postures, for both intimacy and dis- tance. A tedious attachment to control and good taste. An invitation to derangements. A principled approach that feels honest. A blood flow, a double-hearted circulation between contempt and care, working the body at an urgent pulse.

  1. The Thirsty Garden
  2. Cheap Dive
  3. Painting
  4. Butterfly Kiss
  5. John
  6. Cute
  7. Heaven Sick
  8. Some Dear Sign
  9. My Ten Cents
  10. Organic

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline