Marc Almond: Fantastic Star - Limited


Release Date: 04-28-2023

SKU: 602448856692

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Marc Almond: Fantastic Star - Limited

1. Product Details

Marc Almond's stunning 1995 solo album Fantastic Star available on vinyl for the first time ever. Newly mastered for 180 gm vinyl at Abbey Road Studios, the original CD album has been completely reevaluated by Marc himself to bring fans this new Artists Cut over this deluxe 2LP version. Despite delivering some of the best-loved Marc Almond songs of the era Adored & Explored, The Idol and Come In Sweet Assasinand We Need Jealousy, for example - Fantastic Star had a long and sometimes troubled gestation with recording sessions spanning two record companies and four big-name producers original Soft Cell / Bronski Beat producer Mike Thorne, the legendary Cure / Banshees / Beautiful South collaborator Mike Hedges, house pioneers The Beatmasters and The Human League / Heaven 17s Martyn Ware all made sonic contributions. The resulting album was a thrilling, sonically varied ride through all the genres Marc had already made his own from grimy guitar-based rock n roll to beautifully orchestrated ballads, and from cutting-edge electronica to out-and-out pop music. For this long-overdue vinyl release Marc has revisited the original running order and looked again at some of the tracks from the sessions that didn't make the album but later appeared as singles B-sides. Making his own cuts, Marc has removed two songs from the CD format - the long version of The Idol in favour of the punchier single version as well as Shining Brightly which he feels never really belonged on Fantastic Star. In their place the Neal-X co-write and live favourite to this day The User gets a promotion to LP2 as do two gorgeous Child Star B-sides which close the album in a more satisfactory way - Christmas In Vegas and My Guardian Angel. In a similar spirit Marc also selected his original choice of image for the album cover, selecting his favourite shot from 1995 sessions by legendary fashion photographer Zanna. Fantastic Star The Artists Cut comes with two fully annotated printed inner bags with lyrics and a new design by Philip Marshall.

  1. A1. Caged 05:38
  2. A2. Out There 05:37
  3. A3. We Need Jealousy 04:07
  4. A4. the Idol (Part 1) 03:43*
  5. B1. Baby Night Eyes 03:40
  6. B2. Adored and Explored (7" Edit) 03:53
  7. B3. Child Star 04:04
  8. B4. Looking for Love (In All the Wrong Places) 05:43
  9. B5. Addicted 04; 08
  10. C1. the Edge of Heartbreak 04:49
  11. C2. Love to Die for 04:02
  12. C3. the User 05:37*
  13. C4. Betrayed 03:21
  14. C5. Come in Sweet Assasin 04:59
  15. D1. on the Prowl 03:54
  16. D2. Brilliant Creatures 05:29
  17. D3. Christmas in Vegas 04:36*
  18. D4. My Guardian Angel 06:20*

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline