Various Artists: This Is Flying Dutchman 1969-1975 / Various


Release Date: 03-31-2023

SKU: 029667013611

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Various Artists: This Is Flying Dutchman 1969-1975 / Various

1. Product Details

Double vinyl LP pressing. UK collection. Bob Thiele is one of the great producers. For his work with John Coltrane alone, where he gave free reign to the saxophone great's wildest musical visions including A Love Supreme, ignoring the usual cost consciousness of a major label, he deserves to be lauded. He launched his own label, Flying Dutchman in 1969, and continued to innovate and record music that reflected it's times, but that also resonates down through the ages. It is to Flying Dutchman that we are paying tribute on this compilation. Gil Scott-Heron's recordings for the label ran to three records, which sold well but not spectacularly at the time. They have since taken on a resonance that makes the album Pieces Of A Man in particular one of the most important recordings of the last century, and it's opening track 'The Revolution Will Not Be Televised' an anthem. Pianist Lonnie Liston Smith had been on Thiele's final important Impulse! Recording, Pharoah Sanders' "Karma", and continued to appear on Flying Dutchman, first as a sideman and then as a leader. His 1975 album "Expansions" was the perfect encapsulation of his 'cosmic jazz' and the title track is a moment of near perfection which has become one of the foundation pieces of modern dance music. Flying Dutchman's other great discoveries are here. Vocalist Leon Thomas found a new route for jazz vocals in the early 70s, which made him a star and earned him a place in Santana. Gato Barbieri became one of the major saxophone stars of the era, after Thiele enabled him to meld his free jazz leanings to the rhythms of South America. The label also made important recordings with Tom Scott (featured on Thiele's own 'Head Start'), Ornette Coleman and Oliver Nelson, whilst interesting records appeared by Esther Marrow, Harold Alexander and many more. This is Flying Dutchman is a considered tribute to the label, and features in depth and fully illustrated sleeve notes. In the year when Bob Thiele's son is gearing up to release the first new music on the label since 1976, it is an apt and timely reminder of the power of the music.

  1. The Revolution Will Not Be Televised - Gil Scott-Heron
  2. Just in Time to See the Sun - Leon Thomas
  3. Head Start - Bob Thiele Emergency
  4. See Saw Affair - Cesar
  5. Peaceful Man - Esther Marrow
  6. Expansions - Lonnie Liston Smith ; the Cosmic Echoes
  7. Bolivia - Gato Barbieri
  8. Friends and Neighbors - Ornette Coleman
  9. 125th St ; 7th Ave - Oliver Nelson
  10. Mama Soul - Harold Alexander
  11. Heavy Soul Slinger - Pretty Purdie
  12. Soulful Strut - Steve Allen
  13. Whitey on the Moon - Gil Scott-Heron
  14. Lament for John Coltrane (Take 1) - Bob Thiele Emergency
  15. Peaceful Ones - Lonnie Liston Smith ; the Cosmic Echoes
  16. Echoes - Leon Thomas

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline