Various Artists: Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures / Various - 140-Gram Black Vinyl


Release Date: 02-02-2024

SKU: 5014797910591

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Various Artists: Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures / Various - 140-Gram Black Vinyl

1. Product Details

To mark the twentieth anniversary of it's original release, Demon Music are proud to present 'Sean Rowley Presents Guilty Pleasures', available as a 29 track 2LP highlights collection ('The Blue Album'). This will be the first time that this hugely popular compilation has been available on vinyl, "the format that these songs were intended to be heard on", according to Sean. At the start of the new millennium Sean Rowley was a DJ on BBC Radio London (then called GLR), when he introduced a new slot featuring the records he loved in his youth. Records he had to hide when friends visited his home after school. While those same friends were into Bowie, Slade, Bolan and Roxy, Sean spent his hard-earned pocket money on David Cassidy's 'Could It Be Forever'. He wasn't into the alternative universe of John Peel or the NME. He thrived on upbeat and sunny Pop songs. ELO trumped The Sex Pistols in his world (uncanny given Paul Cooke from the Pistols later blagged a copy of the original 'Guilty Pleasures' compilation, saying, "We always secretly loved these songs"). This new slot began with the playing of Alessi's 'Oh, Lori'. The response was extraordinary - listeners were so keen to share their own guilty pleasures that playing them all required a show of it's own. Demand dictated that Sean should compile a 'Guilty Pleasures' album - the first of two titles followed in 2004 (all 22 of the tracks on that original release are included on both of our new formats). The phrase 'guilty pleasures' moved into the public domain. National newspapers devoted columns to it, music magazines gave over numerous pages to discuss the best songs in this new sub-genre. The Guardian declared a 'Guilty Pleasures' night "the future of clubbing". ITV came calling with a demand to make a one-off Saturday TV show. Fast forward twenty years and Sean has partnered with Demon to make 'Guilty Pleasures' available on vinyl for the very first time, and expanded the guilt over four themed CDs adding deep cuts, one-hit wonders and exotic recordings that perfectly soundtracked a sun-kissed '70s U.S. west coast life style, less so in '70s Britain. Welcome to a '70s Pop odyssey. Welcome to a collection of records that were swept under the carpet of cool. Welcome back, Guilty Pleasures.

  1. Alessi Brothers - Oh Lori
  2. Captain and Tennille - Love Will Keep Us Together
  3. Pilot - January
  4. Electric Light Orchestra - Sweet Talkin’ Woman
  5. Climax Blues Band - Couldn’t Get It Right
  6. Ace - How Long
  7. Billy Swan - I Can Help
  8. When The Show's Over
  9. The Fortunes - Storm In A Teacup
  10. David Essex - Gonna Make You a Star
  11. Sherbet - Howzat
  12. Andrew Gold - Never Let Her Slip Away
  13. 10cc - The Things We Do For Love
  14. Marshall Hain - Dancing In The City
  15. Carole Bayer Sager - Moving Out Today
  16. Peter Skellern - Hold On To Love
  17. Gallagher ; Lyle - I Wanna Stay With You
  18. Andy Kim - Rock Me Gently
  19. Jim Gilstrap - Swing Your Daddy
  20. Brian Protheroe - Pinball
  21. Helen Reddy - Angie Baby
  22. Andrew Fairweather-Low - Wide Eyed ; Legless
  23. Colin Blunstone - Say You Don’t Mind
  24. Charlie Dore - Pilot Of The Airwaves
  25. Starland Vocal Band - Afternoon Delight
  26. Liverpool Express - You Are My Love
  27. Lynsey De Paul - Sugar Me
  28. Clout - Let It Grow
  29. Rupert Holmes - Him
  30. Eric Carmen - She Did It

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline