Various Artists: NuNorthern Soul: Summer Selections Two (Various Artists)


Release Date: 08-07-2020

SKU: 5060202594825

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Various Artists: NuNorthern Soul: Summer Selections Two (Various Artists)

1. Product Details

While the ongoing global pandemic means our chances to gather and dance beneath deep blue skies are likely to be limited, there's never been a greater need for warm, positive and life-affirming music. NuNorthern Soul has decided to do it's bit by offering up a brand new 'Summer Selections' sampler that's packed to the rafters with magical musical treats lifted from some of the label's most potent forthcoming releases. The EP begins with something rather special from Canadian producer Igor B: a gentle, sunrise-ready soundscape rich in languid hand percussion, bubbly synthesizer lines and glistening guitars. Entitled 'Deep Breath', the track is just one of the many highlights you'll find on his forthcoming debut album, 'Stranded Seaside'. There's a similarly tactile and immersive feel to 'Early Morning Ferry' by George Koutalieris, a Greek producer whose debut album 'Stop, Look, Listen' will be released by NuNorthern Soul later in the year. On his contribution to 'Summer Selections Two', Koutalieris wraps lilting, sun-soaked guitar solos and soft-touch electronics around a chunky groove that doffs a cap to the more laidback end of the 1970s West Coast rock spectrum. Next up, long-time friend of the family Chris Coco delivers a stunning interpretation of 'Dinum', an overlooked neo-classical/ambient fusion track by Faroe Islands-based producer Kristian Blak's Yggdrasil project. Coco's simmering, string-drenched re-imagining is featured here as a teaser of NuNorthern Soul's reissue of the 2014 track in the autumn, which will also feature a mind-blowing 10-minute rework by Mike Salta - an artist who is also featured on 'Summer Selections Two'. This time round you'll find Salta collaborating with Mortale on the starry, EP-ending ambient bliss of 'Bells of Burgibba', a deliciously drowsy mixture of twinkling electric piano motifs, chiming lead lines and woozy pads taken from the forthcoming 'Celestial Hike EP'. It paddles in similar sonic waters to label boss Phil Cooper's stretched-out, slo-mo Balearic dub of new signing Faint Waves' 'Aphrodesia', a teaser of the artist's 'Islands In Time EP' which can be found elsewhere on 'Summer Selections Two'. No NuNorthern Soul label sampler would be complete without a contribution from BJ Smith, an artist who has been with the imprint from it's earliest days. Smith returns to the imprint with another reminder of his uncanny ability to deliver ear-catching cover versions that re-cast classic cuts as loved-up rays of Balearic sunshine. This time round Smith takes us on a huggable shuffle through Prefab Sprout's 'All the World Loves Lovers', re-imagining it as a future Balearic anthem and a summer 2020 sing-along. It's not only a sneak peak of what we can expect from 'Dedication to the Greats Volume 3', his first covers collection for nigh on six years, but also a life-affirming highlight of an EP that oozes musical positivity from start to finish.

  1. Overture
  2. Soolaimon
  3. Beautiful Noise
  4. Forever in Blue Jeans
  5. Love on the Rocks
  6. Hello Again
  7. September Morn
  8. Play Me
  9. Shilo
  10. Red Red Wine
  11. You Got to Me
  12. Girl You'll Be a Woman Soon
  13. Thank the Lord for the Night Time
  14. Cherry Cherry
  15. Kentucky Woman
  16. Solitary Man
  17. Glory Road
  18. Chelsea Morning
  19. I'm a Believer
  20. Happy Birthday Rose
  21. Cracklin' Rosie
  22. And the Grass Won't Pay No Mind
  23. Pretty Amazing Grace
  24. We
  25. Stones
  26. You Don't Bring Me Flowers
  27. Holly Holy
  28. Morningside
  29. Crunchy Gronal Suite
  30. Sweet Caroline
  31. Sweet Caroline - Reprise
  32. I Am... I Said
  33. Walk Off
  34. America
  35. Brother Love's Travelling Salvation Show
  36. I've Been This Way Before
  37. Walk Off
  38. Band Bows
  39. Audience Exit

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline