Various Artists: Mirwood Northern Soul / Various


Release Date: 11-03-2017

SKU: 029667006019

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Various Artists: Mirwood Northern Soul / Various

1. Product Details

Mirwood Records' second release was Jackie Lee's 'The Duck', an uptempo soul swinger that became a big hit and established the Mirwood sound. The house team of producer Fred Smith, arranger James Carmichael, songwriter and backing voices arranger Sherlie Matthews, along with contributions from veteran singer/songwriters Bobby Relf and Earl Nelson (Bob & Earl), made for uptempo soul perfection and they played that beat throughout 1965 and 1966. More US chart action occurred for Mirwood with the Olympics and Bob & Earl but much of their superlative work fell on deaf American ears. It was the British soul aficionados of the early 70s who discovered these masterpieces and played them on the burgeoning Northern Soul scene with dancers revelling in the relentless beats, pleading vocals and sassy female backing. Virtually any Jackie Lee track was a worthy contender and although they never repeated his 'Duck' success, the company created soul classics like 'Do The Temptation Walk', the later master tape discovery 'Anything You Want (Any Way You Want It)' and the anthemic 'Oh My Darlin'. Bob & Earl's hottest number was actually the backing track to Bob's speedy 'My Little Girl', discovered as an accidental LP track in the late 60s. Under the same alias, Bobby Garrett, he had another monster sound with 'I Can't Get Away'. Sherlie Matthews composed the hit 'Mine Exclusively' for the Olympics and, in a similar stomping vein, wrote 'The Same Old Thing' for the group. She penned 'Don't Pretend' for mystery trio the Belles, a studio group consisting of herself along with the Holloway sisters Brenda and Patrice, who were moonlighting while under contract at Motown and Capitol, respectively. Another Los Angeles stable under the auspices of Henry "Hank" Graham threw the Performers into the mix with 'I Can't Stop You' and renamed singer Jimmy Conwell as Richard Temple for a 45 that epitomises Northern Soul 'That Beatin' Rhythm'; a credo for a cult. More indie productions came from Eddie LaShae with the Sheppards' redoubtable 'Stubborn Heart' and Sonny Knight's production of Curtis Lee on his own 'Is She In Your Town'. Ex-Ike Turner sideman Jimmy Thomas landed at Mirwood in 1966 where Bob Relf recorded him on his own 'Where There's A Will (There's A Way)'. Thomas brought the Ikettes along with him; the company switched their name to the Mirettes for the Sherlie Matthews' song 'I Wanna Do Everything For You Baby'.

  1. That Beatin' Rhythm - Richard Temple
  2. Do the Temptation Walk - Jackie Lee
  3. The Same Old Thing - the Olympics
  4. I Wanna Do Everything for You Baby - the Mirettes
  5. My Little Girl - the Bob ; Earl Band
  6. Is She in Your Town? - Curtis Lee
  7. Oh My Darlin' - Jackie Lee
  8. I Can't Get Away - Bobby Garrett
  9. Mine Exclusively - the Olympics
  10. Where There's a Will (There's a Way) - Jimmy Thomas
  11. Don't Pretend - the Belles
  12. Anything You Want (Any Way You Want It) - Jackie Lee
  13. I Can't Stop You - the Performers
  14. Stubborn Heart - the Sheppards

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline