Various Artists: Alfa/yen Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop (Various Artists)


Release Date: 04-05-2024

SKU: 4547366627411

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Various Artists: Alfa/yen Records 1980-1987: Techno Pop (Various Artists)

1. Product Details

Recording technology was completely revolutionized in the 80s by the multitrack recorder, with the popularity of 24-channel SSL consoles sweeping the world. Japanese pop music created during this wave of digital improvement is now recognized worldwide as "City Pop." Techno Pop was another offshoot born of the same revolution. Precise, computer-controlled beats produced by groups like Yellow Magic Orchestra (YMO) introduced a different type of sound to the masses. By now, these works have been brought into the international limelight and continue to be a major influence on today's music. At the center of Tokyo's Techno Pop scene was ALFA/YEN Records. The label left behind an impressive body of work, but much of it wasn't made widely available... until now! This new, definitive compilation focuses on the music archives of the YEN Records catalog, available for the first time exclusively at Light in the Attic. This is a true celebration of Japan's Techno Pop scene of the 80s, reissued with the intent that future generations, internationally, will be able to discover, enjoy, and appreciate ALFA/YEN and it's significant contributions to the sonic landscape of the 80s and beyond. ALFA/YEN The label was established by Haruomi Hosono and Yukihiro Takahashi in May 1982, within Alfa Records. For Haruomi Hosono, it was a long-awaited label driven by producers and artists, and for Yukihiro Takahashi, he enjoyed experimenting with his works at a private studio. The label continued to release high-quality works not just by YMO and related artists but also unique artists such as Hajime Tachibana and Jun Togawa, and cutting-edge bands such as Testpattern and Interior. Unfortunately, the label ended in May 1985, but it's success led to a later boom in indie labels, and it continues to have a profound impact on Japanese music.

  1. Seoul Music - Yellow Magic Orchestra
  2. Zoot Kook - Sandii
  3. Sakisaka to Momonai No Gokigen Ikaga One Two Three - You An' Me Orgasmus Orchestra
  4. Drip Dry Eyes - Yukihiro Takahashi;Suki-Suki-Daisuki - Jun Togawa;Parallelisme - Miharu Koshi;Bikkuri Party No Theme - Haruomi Hosono ; Yukihiro Takahashi
  5. Sakasa Kenjin Eagas - Apogee ; Perigee
  6. Yumemiru Yakusoku - Haruomi Hosono;Rock - Hajime Tachibana
  7. Riot in Lagos - Ryuichi Sakamoto
  8. Radarman - Jun Togawa
  9. Platonic - Haruomi Hosono
  10. Beat the Rap- Super Eccentric Theater
  11. Rap Phenomena - Yellow Magic Orchestra
  12. Lexington Queen - Ryuichi Sakamoto
  13. Chanel No #5 No on the Rock - Sheena
  14. Beach Girl - Testpattern
  15. Flashback - Yukihiro Takahashi
  16. Automne Dans Un Miroir - Tamao Koike
  17. Ascending - Interior

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline