The Chantels: Born In The Bronx: The Singles 1957-62


Release Date: 10-20-2023

SKU: 824046163525

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
The Chantels: Born In The Bronx: The Singles 1957-62

1. Product Details

Vinyl LP pressing. Widely credited as being one of the first 'girl bands' of the rock era, The Chantels were a remarkably talented vocal group. Starting off while at High School, a fortuitous meeting in the street with doo wop group The Valentines led lead singer and producer Richard Barrett to champion the teenagers. With a combination of the sensational song writing skills and vocal ability of Chantels lead Arlene Smith and Barrett's influence within the industry, the young group from The Bronx, enjoyed many successes at a very young age. All students at the St. Anthony of Padua Elementary School in The Bronx, N.Y., they started singing together in the early '50s in second grade, being members of the St. Anthony's church choir. Unlike many African American vocal groups, with roots in gospel, the music they learnt together of a different religious bent in the form of liturgical music, Latin hymns and Gregorian chants. They combined the unique vocal blend they had acquired with the doowop harmonies they heard performed by the male groups on the street corners. This collection celebrates The Chantels unique talent across the first five years of their recording career and helps emphasise just how influential they were in paving the way for future girl groups. It is made up of the vast majority of their singles including He's Gone, The Plea, Prayee, (I Can't Take It) There's our song again, Look In My Eyes, and their beautiful rendition of George Gershwin's Summertime. A must for all fans of female harmony groups.

  1. He's Gone
  2. The Plea
  3. Maybe
  4. Every Night (I Pray)
  5. I Love You So
  6. How Could You Call It Off
  7. Prayee
  8. If You Try
  9. (I Can't Take It) There's Our Song Again
  10. Goodbye To Love
  11. Summers Love
  12. I'm The Girl
  13. Look In My Eyes
  14. Well I Told You
  15. Here It Comes Again
  16. Summertime

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline