Saho Terao: Going North


Release Date: 10-27-2023

SKU: 4995879079904

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Saho Terao: Going North

1. Product Details

Perhaps more than any other musician of her generation, Japanese singer-songwriter Saho Terao has pursued the perfect "song". In the 16 years since her debut album, Terao has made songs ranging from Joni-mitchell inspired folk ballads to pop renditions of traditional Japanese lullabies. Saho Terao's ninth original studio album, Kita e Mukau (Going North) is a celebration of her history, but sounds fresh from beginning to end. The diverse cast of supporting musicians should be familiar to fans of Terao, with musicians such as Reizaburo Adachi (ds, sax.), Wataru Iga (b.) (who form the three piece band Fuyu ni Wakarete along with Terao), Shuta Hasunuma (arr.), U-zhaan (Tabla), Mahito The People (gt.), Wakana Ikeda (fl.), and more appearing on the record. Although Terao's soothing voice and piano playing form the basis of each of the songs, the arrangements are at times times fun and upbeat, at times bordering on avant-garde, and at times so beautiful that you'll find yourself teary-eyed. At first listen, the relaxed atmosphere and laid back beat of title track "Kita e Mukau" ("Going North"), devoted to Terao's late father, makes it feel like a song perfect for a cloudy day. But repeated listens reveal the kind of stirring allegories that other words can't do justice. The emotional power imbued in the song is concealed at first glance by a modern arrangement, but careful listeners will be rewarded with an emotional gut punch of a song. "Asadoya Yunta" is a folk song from the islands of Okinawa that's been covered extensively, including versions by Ryuichi Sakamoto, Yuta Orisaka, and Haruomi Hosono. But where the YMO members turn the tune into tropical electronica, and Orisaka turns it on it's head with his psych folk interpretation, Terao keeps it simple. Perhaps it's her extensive experience covering traditional folk songs in her Favorite Children's Songs series, but Terao's sparse piano accompaniment highlights the beautiful melody and her own voice. Despite the plethora of covers by some of Japan's best musicians, Terao succeeds in making the song her own, while somehow keeping to it's folkloric roots. But perhaps the best example of Terao's musicianship is in the album closer, "Yumagure (electric guitar version)". The song was originally included on Ai no Himitsu (2009), and it's a shining example of contemporary folk. Played over a simple piano arrangement, the song received high praise for it's use of everyday imagery ("At twilight, I'll gaze at the blurry moon"). But over a decade after it's initial recording, Terao revisited the song, enlisting the help of Gezan's Mahito the People on guitar. Mahito's playing is delicate, coiling and intermingling with the melody and piano, and making expert use of reverb to create an atmosphere altogether different from the original. What Kita e Mukau accomplishes may not be the perfect "song", but it unifies the often disparate parts of Terao's discography into one cohesive project. Pressed on black wax, this record from one of Japan's foremost singer-songwriters is sure to be one of the essential releases of 2023.

  1. Yuukoku
  2. Going North
  3. Ichiwa Ga Niwani
  4. Yakurai Yuki
  5. Asatoyayunta
  6. Kimiwa Watashino Tomodachi
  7. Sentaku
  8. Sora to Umi
  9. Kioku
  10. Kokorono Mamani
  11. Yuumagure (Electric Guitar Version)

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline