Open The Gate - Limited 180-Gram Orange Color Vinyl


Release Date: 02-10-2023

SKU: 8719262023048

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Open The Gate - Limited 180-Gram Orange Color Vinyl

1. Product Details

The Jamaican dub pioneer Lee 'Scratch' Perry had the ability to attract some of the best musicians around to indulge in their fantasies. He knew how to draw the best out of those who wandered by their studios. The 1989 compilation album Open The Gate is a collection of the 12' versions Lee Perry did in the late Black Ark period. For the recordings, he gathered some of the best singers of the island, including Anthony 'Sangie' Davis, The Heptones, Leroy Sibbles, The Diamonds, The Congos, Junior Murvin and of course Perry's studio band The Upsetters amongst others. The 3LP Open The Gate is available as a limited edition of 2500 individually numbered copies on orange colored vinyl and includes 3 printed innersleeves.

  1. Side A
  2. 1. Anthony 'Sangie' Davis ; Lee Perry - Words
  3. 2. Devon Irons ; Dr. Alimantado - Vampire
  4. Side B
  5. 1. the Heptones ; the Upsetters - Babylon Falling Version
  6. 2. the Heptones ; the Upsetters - Mistry Babylon Version
  7. 3. Leroy Sibbles - Garden of Life
  8. Side C
  9. 1. Carlton Jackson - History
  10. 2. Junior Delgado - Sons of Slaves
  11. 3. Watty Burnett - Open the Gate
  12. Side D
  13. 1. the Mighty Diamonds ; the Upsetters - Talk About It Yama-Ky
  14. 2. Eric Donaldson - Cherry Oh Baby
  15. 3. Watty Burnett - Rainy Night in Portland
  16. Side E
  17. 1. Horace Smart ; the Upsetters - Ruffer Ruff Ruffer Dub
  18. 2. the Congos - Neckodeemus
  19. 3. the Twin Roots - Know Love
  20. Side F
  21. 1. Lee Perry - City Too Hot
  22. 2. Lee Perry - Bionic Rats
  23. 3. Junior Murvin - Bad Weed

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline