Now That's What I Call 80s Dancefloor: Disco & Electro / Various


Release Date: 12-08-2023

SKU: 196588422614

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Now That's What I Call 80s Dancefloor: Disco & Electro / Various

1. Product Details

NOW Music is proud to present the second in our ongoing series of vinyl compilations, NOW That's What I Call 80s Dancefloor. Each edition features an essential collection of tracks representing key genres from the incredible diversity that were all part of 1980's Dance music. This volume, featuring 29 tracks across 2-LPs, pressed on 1 Purple and 1 Pink vinyl, presents the best in DISCO and ELECTRO. Following the height of it's' popularity in the late 1970s, Disco in the early 1980s retained the irresistible melodies and beat but became primarily synth driven. The era saw some of the genres' biggest hits including this collections' opener 'Flashdance... What A Feeling' from Irene Cara - this theme from the film 'Flashdance' was not only a massive selling single, but the song also won multiple awards including an Academy Award. Lipps Inc. produced a timeless hit with 'Funkytown', and Shalamar with 'A Night To Remember', Odyssey with 'Use It Up And Wear It Out' and Indeep's 'Last Night A DJ Saved My Life' were all huge commercial Disco hits. Disco royalty Nile Rodgers and Bernard Edwards of Chic feature here in their roles as producers and writers with Diana Ross's massive hit 'Upside Down', 'Why' from Carly Simon, and the peerless 'Spacer' from Sheila & B. Devotion and in 1984 remixed Sister Sledge's 'Lost In Music' which became a massive hit again and is included here in it's full 12" version. Amii Stewart's classic version of 'Knock On Wood' was remixed and a hit again, Donna Summer enjoyed huge success with 'She Works Hard For The Money', and other established Disco superstars celebrated returns to the charts with an 80's Disco sound including, and featured on this collection, KC & The Sunshine Band, Patrick Cowley feat. Sylvester and Evelyn "Champagne" King. The prevalence of the synth in the 1980s gave rise to new and exciting sounds and to tracks that were created with fusions of genres. On this collection we are celebrating 'ELECTRO' - a sub-genre of Electronic Dance music that combined elements of Disco, Funk and Hip-Hop and featuring a heavy synth backing, and the commercial Electro-Pop hits it produced. In 1984, Chaka Khan who had achieved huge success with the Disco classic 'I'm Every Woman', had a worldwide smash with a cover of Prince's 'I Feel For You' which combined Disco, Funk, R&B, Synth-Pop and Hip-Hop - to stunning effect. Also a hit in 1984, Jimmy Jam and Terry Lewis produced a classic fusion of Disco, R&B, Funk and Synth-Pop for the S.O.S Band with 'Just Be Good To Me' and also included here are hugely influential Electro-Pop gems from Freeez, Rockers Revenge feat. Donnie Calvin, Malcolm McLaren, Break Machine, and Rock Steady Crew. In the latter half of the 80s, Disco and Electro-Pop continued to evolve and fill dance-floors. Taking influences from both genres, Expose and Company B enjoyed 'freestyle' hits and DJ, remixer and producer Jellybean had a string of hits including 'Just A Mirage', and Whitney Houston became a global superstar. One of her signature tracks 'I Wanna Dance With Somebody (Who Loves Me)' serves as a stellar example of how Dance music had evolved through the decade and remained as vital and uplifting as ever.

  1. Irene Cara - Flashdance... What a Feeling
  2. Shalamar - a Night to Remember
  3. Rockers Revenge Feat. Donnie Calvin - Walking on Sunshine
  4. Freeez - I.O.U
  5. Shannon - Let the Music Play
  6. Company B - Fascinated
  7. Exposé - Point of No Return
  8. Nu Shooz - I Can't Wait
  9. Chaka Khan - I Feel for You
  10. Jellybean - Just a Mirage
  11. Malcolm McLaren the World's Famous Supreme Team - Buffalo Gals
  12. Break Machine - Street Dance
  13. Rock Steady Crew - (Hey You) the Rock Steady Crew
  14. Ollie ; Jerry - Breakin'... There's No Stopping Us (From "Breakin'" Soundtrack)
  15. The S.O.S Band - Just Be Good to Me
  16. Sister Sledge - Lost in Music (1984 Bernard Edwards ; Nile Rodgers Remix)
  17. Amii Stewart - Knock on Wood
  18. Sheila ; B. Devotion - Spacer
  19. Carly Simon - Why
  20. Diana Ross - Upside Down
  21. Odyssey - Use It Up and Wear It Out
  22. Evelyn "Champagne" King - Love Come Down
  23. Whitney Houston - I Wanna Dance with Somebody (Who Loves Me)
  24. Donna Summer - She Works Hard for the Money
  25. Lipps Inc. - Funkytown
  26. Patrick Cowley Feat. Sylvester - Do You Wanna Funk
  27. Sharon Redd - Can You Handle It?
  28. KC ; the Sunshine Band - Give It Up
  29. Indeep - Last Night a D.J. Saved My Life

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline