Jun Miyake: Whispered Garden


Release Date: 04-07-2023

SKU: 4995879077931

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Jun Miyake: Whispered Garden

1. Product Details

Paris, Tokyo, New York, Rio de Janeiro, Toronto, Barcelona and Sofia are the world-hopping locations that sew together the shared space of Whispered Garden, the latest album from composer Jun Miyake. Recorded in the middle of the global pandemic - in a trend not unique to this project - Miyake and his collaborators found themselves in isolation looking for ways to continue their respective work in safety. With the assistance of modern connectivity, and a group united by the visionary jazz frameworks of Miyake, P-VINE is delighted to be releasing his first album in four years since 2017's Lost Memory Theatre - Act Three. Long-term collaborator Lisa Papineau returns on several tracks starting with "Hollow Bones, " where her high range glides like a siren above poised harp playing from Constance Luzzati, programming samples from Miyake, and string and woodwind sections fanning the neo-classical flames of the fantastical piece. Arto Lindsay returns on "Farois Distantes, " with sparks flying from his guitar effects box at the Latin rhythms of Vinicius Cantuária's scene-setting bossa nova guitar, and Singer-songwriter Bruno Capinan's delicate wide-strokes of vocal expression. A Jun Miyake album would also be unrecognisable without it's jazz roots, and Miyake brings out his trademark flugelhorn on many a track. "1979" takes one step into a golden era of spiritual Jazz with the other at the mercy of the shared lead solos by Miyake and the prophetic soprano sax of David Liebman. In support, bassist Hitoshi Watanabe and the steady hands of Hideo Yamaki on drums provide a solid backing line as they do across many of these tracks. Kyoko Katsunuma, Cosmic Voices from Bulgaria, Arthur H and Dhafer Youssef are just some of the other names to lend their hand to the vast inner works of this ambitious project. Discovered by the Japanese legend Terumasa Hino, Jun Miyake began his career as a Jazz trumpeter graduating from Berklee College of Music. Upon his return to Tokyo, he became an influential artist and successful composer beginning with his 1983 debut JUNE NIGHT LOVE, and to date has released 16 solo albums. He has composed for films, documentaries, advertisement, theatre pieces, and served as a producer for numerous artists. Miyake has won many awards at Cannes Advertisement Film Festival and the Digital Media Grands Prix after working on over 3, 000 TV commercials. He has closely worked with Pina Bausch, Wim Wenders, Robert Wilson, Oliver Stone, Jean-Paul Goude, Philippe Decoufle, Joseph Cedar, etc. As well as collaborations with artists such as Hal Willner, Arto Lindsay, Peter Scherer, Arthur H, Vinicius Cantuaria, Cosmic Voices from Bulgaria, David Byrne, Grace Jones, Gavin Friday, Ron Carter, Michael Brecker, and many others.

  1. Untrodden Sphere
  2. Hollow Bones
  3. Counterflect
  4. The Jamestown Bridge
  5. Paradica
  6. Farois Distantes
  7. Undreamt Chapter
  8. 1979
  9. Fluctations
  10. Seshat
  11. Parece Ate Carnaval
  12. Progeny
  13. Le Reve de L'eau
  14. Witness
  15. Time Song Time
  16. Arraiada

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline