Gary McFarland: Soft Samba Live! Jazz From The Penthouse


Release Date: 01-06-2023

SKU: 612977906164

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Gary McFarland: Soft Samba Live! Jazz From The Penthouse

1. Product Details

From the great cache of tapes recorded at Seattle's storied Penthouse nightclub comes The Gary McFarland Quintet, recorded live in the summer of 1965. McFarland could usually be found in the recording studios of New York arranging for everyone from Stan Getz to Lena Horne, but his 1964 bossa-jazz classic LP Soft Samba was such an unexpected hit that it afforded McFarland the opportunity to hit the road with fellow Berklee School of Music alumni Gabor Szabo on guitar and Sadao Watanabe on flute and alto sax. The quintet also featured future Bill Evans bassist Eddie Gomez and Joe Cocuzzo on drums. Originally available exclusively on the CD that accompanied the DVD of the documentary This Is Gary McFarland, this limited-edition vinyl has been re-sequenced and features one previously unreleased track, McFarland's kitschy bossa-Beatles cover of "She Loves You." Other titles include the McFarland originals "Train Samba" and "Pecos Pete," as well as covers of "La Vie en Rose," "Morning of the Carnival," and "A Hard Day's Night.

  1. Pecos Pete
  2. Morning of the Carnival
  3. A Hard Day's Night
  4. Outro and Band Introductions
  5. She Loves You
  6. La Vie en Rose
  7. Train Samba

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline