Boycalledcrow: Nightmare Folk Art


Release Date: 03-24-2023

SKU: 5060911680123

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Boycalledcrow: Nightmare Folk Art

1. Product Details

Boycalledcrow is the alias of Chester-based sound artist Carl Knott (Wonderful Beasts, Spacelab). Knott is a former folk musician using his nascent acoustic influences as the basis for his unique and often stirring compositions. "I like weird folk art, and I think the stuff I make is a bit like that," he explains. "It's definitely not perfect - it's strange and a reflection of the time and place I live in." Each one of the twelve tracks on Nightmare Folk Art finds itself poised on an axis somewhere between the acoustic and electronic, the rhythmic and the ambient, the minimalist and the densely-layered. Opener 'Old Blue Bear' sets the tone for the collection, switching breezily between introspective textures and fast-paced euphoria, underpinned by acoustic guitar passages that are skewed so extensively that they become disconnected from their sources. Melodies rise up joyfully, hang around, and then become enveloped in treated sounds of unknowable provenance. "I hunt down really clean royalty-free acoustic guitar samples," says Knott. "I like nylon strings and clear, sparkly tones - the brighter, the better. I pick the source material based on how sonically good and warm it sounds as well as the clarity of the notes. It really has nothing to do with the musical phrase." Knott then manipulates those plundered sounds to create the diverse sounds heard across Nightmare Folk Art. "My mantra is to destroy, create, then repeat. It's really liberating, and I love working this way. I play acoustic fingerpicking guitar so I try to play my controller the same way. At the same time, audio is very visual for me: I get a glimpse of an abstract object in my mind's eye and try to get close to that, but I also like the feel of falling into a rabbit hole and not knowing where I might end up." That sense of venturing deep into the unknown shines through on this album. Tracks like the chiming, shanty-esque 'Acorn' and the fluttering, elusive shapes of 'Mystic Scally' and 'Silly Song' evoke a sense of wonder and awe akin to staring onto a new landscape or cityscape for the first time, leaving a transcendent mark on the listener. These are the sounds to accompany sepia-tinged memories, long-forgotten faces and misremembered places; regrets, reminiscences, hopes and dreams. "This album was influenced by my family, and walking in the countryside in Staffordshire and Cheshire," explains Knott of the pastoral, ruminative quality that flows through Nightmare Folk Art. "I genuinely think that there's a spiritual side to this type of creativity. It means I can express deep feelings in a way that I simply couldn't vocalise." A warmth and hopefulness can be found here. 'Sister Poppy Is A Good Girl', named after the Knott family dog, carries a beautiful, celebratory sheen while the warped and churning drones of 'So So So, Sad' flits between optimistic promise and uncertainty, reflecting the state of mind that Knott was in when assembling the album. "The title came from a William Gibson book, 'Virtual Light'," concludes Knott. "I was reading that at the same time of making the album. It seemed to perfectly sum up what I was creating, despite everything around me feeling a bit off and nightmarish."

  1. Old Blue Bear
  2. Beautiful Woman
  3. Be More Kind Like Frank
  4. Acorn
  5. Sister Poppy Is A Good Girl
  6. Mystic Scally
  7. So So So Sad
  8. Silly Song
  9. When It Rains
  10. Emerald Eye
  11. Easy Tiger
  12. Happy Folk Star

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline