B.B. King: Easy Listening Blues


Release Date: 01-25-2019

SKU: 8436563182273

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
B.B. King: Easy Listening Blues

1. Product Details

Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing including bonus material. This collector's release includes B.B. King's all-instrumental 1962 LP Easy Listening Blues, which marks King's tenth budget-priced album. The album title is a bit misleading, considering that King, who might be smooth and urbane in some respects, rarely recorded music that could be categorized as "easy listening." Although this material is lesser known than the bulk of King's popular repertoire, it is in no way inferior. The blues giant imbues each number with a spectrum of moods, ranging from a subdued quality ("Blues for Me" and "Walkin'") to highly charged intensity ("Rambler" and "Shoutin' the Blues"). King also plays here with his usual authority, making occasional nods toward the rock & roll twist craze on cuts like "Night Long" and "Hully Gully." The tunes were recorded in Los Angeles, in 1962, as part of the stockpiling process before B.B. King switched to the ABC-Paramount label. He is backed on the album by Lloyd Glenn on piano, Maxwell Davis on organ, Ralph Hamilton on bass, and Jesse Sailes on drums (no horns were booked for the dates). Formal arrangements were kept to a minimum, with relaxed and elegant readings of "Confessin'," "Slow Walk" (re-titled "Slow Burn" when it reappeared on a Kent single some years later), and "Walkin'." "Don't Touch" recalls past glories by utilizing the principal riff from King's Latin-tinged 1953 smash "Woke Up This Morning" as it's starting point. "Shoutin' the Blues" takes a similar tack, quoting from the broom-dusting beginning of another 1953 King classic, "Please Love Me," before breaking into a salty shuffle. Because there have been so few purely instrumental releases by King, this album should be considered an essential part of his discography. In addition to the original masterpiece, this collector's LP includes two bonus tracks, "Talkin' the Blues," and the catchy R&B tune "3 O'Clock Stomp," both of which are instrumentals that were cut during the same period.

  1. I Walk On Gilded Splinters
  2. Leaving Trunk
  3. Blind Bats And Swamp Rats
  4. Rollin' Stone
  5. I Don't Want No Woman
  6. Sick And Tired
  7. Down Along The Cove
  8. Bad News
  9. Dimples
  10. Voodoo In You
  11. My Love Will Never Die

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline