Riot: Archives Volume 2: 1982-1983


Release Date: 03-08-2019

SKU: 4251267700233

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Riot: Archives Volume 2: 1982-1983

1. Product Details

Rick Ventura was the second guitar partner in Riot for legendary axeman Mark Reale. Formerly active in a cover band in New Jersey, Rick joined the band in 1978 taking over from Lou Kouvaris. The first Riot album he is playing on was 1979's »Narita«. He comments: "Most of the songs for that album were already written, when I joined, but I contributed to 'Waiting For The Taking'. It wasn't very nice what they did to Lou." It's almost impossible to overestimate the importance of Riot for the evolution of American heavy metal. The New Yorkers built the bridge between the first generation of hard rock and metal bands springing up in the early to mid-1970s (Blue Öyster Cult, Kiss and Van Halen) and the new wave carrying the torch in the late 1970s and early 1980s (led by Canadian proto speed metal merchants Anvil and Exciter). Formed in New York City in 1975, Riot recorded one of the best heavy metal albums of all time: 1981's »Fire Down Under«. However, before this landmark album finally saw the light of day, it took Riot six long years and two studio albums (1977's »Rock City« and »Narita« from 1979) to get the formula right. Although the main protagonists of Riot are no longer with us, singer Guy Speranza died on November 8th 2003 and main man Mark Reale, guitarist and principal songwriter, sadly passed away on January 25th 2012, it's second guitarist Rick Ventura who is still alive (and making music). Rick Ventura was a driving force behind 1981's landmark »Fire Down Under« record. He comments: "No way did we know that »Fire Down Under« would become such a popular album. We just wrote and played what we felt. It wasn't until decades later till it really hit me." Among numerous other rare and unreleased recordings, »Riot Archives Vol.2« contains a song called "Hot Life", which did not make it onto any Riot album, Rick Ventura believes it was written by Mark Reale. In addition to that, the record also features the original auditions for Rhett Forrester, with him singing "Hard Lovin' Man" and "Vigilante Killer" - a real jewel - plus an extraordinary 8-minute version of "Loved By You". Rick Ventura comments: "I know. It's so cool! Just one of those things." Comparing the different eras with Guy Speranza and Rhett Forrester on vocals, Rick Ventura, whose last album with the band was »Born In America« (from 1983), concludes: "Well, certainly the Guy era was decisive, that's what got the fan base. I enjoyed both. Rhett was fun to work with. In the end I left Riot because of frustration, overall direction and management issues. No major label wanted us. It just wasn't the same Riot anymore."

  1. You Better Run
  2. Hard Lovin Man
  3. Cia
  4. Restless Breed
  5. When I Was Young
  6. Dream Away
  7. Over to You
  8. Violent Crimes
  9. Showdown
  10. Loved By You (8 Minute Version)
  11. You Better Run (Instrumental)
  12. Violent Crimes (Instrumental)
  13. Hot Life
  14. Born in America
  15. You Burn in Me
  16. Vigilante Killer
  17. Gunfighter
  18. Hard Lovin Man (Audition)
  19. Vigilante Killer (Audition)
  20. Bonus DVD: Through the Years
  21. Nightbreaker Studio Report Japan TV Special 1992
  22. Brethren of the Long House Japan TV Special 1995
  23. Inishmore Promo Interview Japan TV 1998
  24. Making of the "Santa Maria" Video Clip 1995
  25. Restless Breed 1982 Video Clip
  26. Born in America 1983 Video Clip

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline