Edward Reekers: The Liberty Project


Release Date: 07-28-2023

SKU: 8712725745624

Free Ground Shipping on all albums, and all other orders over $75

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
Edward Reekers: The Liberty Project

1. Product Details

140 Gram Black Vinyl. History repeats itself. Haven't we heard that one before? (Which actually proves that the statement is true.) It's not only a frequently heard comment, it also happens to be the main theme of a new double album by Edward Reekers entitled 'The Liberty Project'. So what is it? A rockopera, a musical, a concept album? Yes. But we'll get to that in a minute. So what's it all about? Imagine there had been a second Big Bang. Would that have altered our evolution or even created a parallel world? And if so, what would that world look like, who would be it's inhabitants? "I wanted to create a story within a story so I introduced Thomas and Catherine, falling in love, splitting up and finding their way back together again. With a society in turmoil around them where politicians, bankers and journalists, amongst others, comment on the situation they're confronted with". Reekers turned to Joost van Broek, who he had met during his Ayreon perfomances, asking him to help him get the Liberty Project on it's way. The collaboration turned out to be a magical one. And that's not the only friend he's had a little help from. Arjen Lucassen played guitars and bass guitar on one of the songs. Mark Lennon of Venice did the leadvocals for a song, Harry Sacksioni delivered a guitarsolo and former Genesis member Steve Hackett contributed a guitar part. "The recording process was an overwhelming experience for me", Reekers confesses. "We had Vandenberg's Koen Herfst on drums, giving it his all, Mark Bogert on guitars, Johannes Adema on basses, a string section, a mixed choir and even a childrens choir. Having composed all the music and written all the lyrics for the project it really was a dream come true for me to hear it come to life with so many great musicians and singers giving me the benefit of their wonderful talent". A grand total of 17 tracks is the result of these efforts. And what immediately attracts attention is the diversity of the material. It ranges from ballads to heavy metal, popsongs, rock orientated powertracks, a genuine blues and almost classical instrumentals. So is it a rockopera? Yes. Is it a musical? Yes. Is it a concept album? Most definetely! First things first. Though Edwards name may ring a bell for many people, a little introduction might be usefull. His name first came up in the Dutch music scene in 1978 when he joined symphonic rockband Kayak as a leadsinger. On and off he made records and toured with the band for many years until 2014. In the mean time he'd been involved in other projects such as Arjen Lucassen's Ayreon, to which he contributed on several records and in a couple of live shows.

  1. Side A: Out of the Past...(Prologue)
  2. The Present Day
  3. Two Lifetimes
  4. The Disease
  5. Good Citizens
  6. Side B:
  7. Liberty
  8. Patients Have Patience
  9. The Break Up
  10. Turn to Us Learn from Us
  11. Side C: The Clash of Belief
  12. Money
  13. We Life to Die
  14. Side D:
  15. Remember the Fallen Celebrate Life
  16. Onwards and Forwards
  17. Never Again
  18. As Good As Any Goal
  19. Into the Future (Epilogue)

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline