My Ruin: The Horror of Beauty


Release Date: 05-24-2024

SKU: 637405141009

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns
My Ruin: The Horror of Beauty

1. Product Details

My Ruin's 2003 release originally on Century Media Records, "The Horror of Beauty," is an incredible album that surpasses the band's previous efforts morphing from a nu-metal band into a stoner/groove/heavy/sludgy/thrashy metal treatise! What makes this album unique is it's raw, guttural quality; best described as a slice of heavy metal shamelessly dipped in sludge and skinned to the bone. In addition, all of the tracks are delicately held together by the eerie aura of a Hollywood silent film. As Mick Murphy's guitar strings quiver and throb, Meghan Mattox's bass stalks the fleeting silence. Tairrie B. relies on her bloodcurdling scream to assault audiences with her unapologetic lyrics. She attacks MTV and teen magazines, both of which present a disgustingly shallow ideal of physical perfection. This album treats treats fans to a generous slew of audio highlights. The instrumental "Stage Fright" is the record's ominous overture; it casts a blood-red spotlight onto the barren stage of an underground theatre, setting the tone for the drama that follows. Then, a jolt of adrenaline kicks in with the band's single "Made to Measure," a personal song that addresses the unbearable pressures for women to be trimmed and flawless. "American Psycho" emits a claustrophobic blackness; tortured by fits of anxiety, Tairrie seems to present herself as a killer of Hollywood "stars." "Spitfire" is a merciless release of fiery rage against My Ruin's former record label. "Burn the Witch" is a slow, slithering track where Tairrie extends her middle finger towards all of the "perfect" girls; the ones who earn popularity with their looks instead of their intelligence. In the fast-paced "Nazimova," (dedicated to the film star of the same name) the shrieking frontwoman proudly declares herself as the vamp; a woman who refuses to compromise herself for the sake of impressing the mainstream crowd. In "Weightless," Miss B. angrily brings up the sensitive subject of her own weight- sickened by how society tolerates stereotypic images of women who are either "fat" or "thin." "Get Pretty" addresses the beauty issue with even more alarming detail. In this blistering track, Miss B. tackles the horrible fear of being "ugly." While tearing down America's wall of silicone and plastic, the band decries the unfairness of how "pretty girls" are popular while "ugly girls" are rejected by society. We confirm that "The Horror of Beauty" is gorgeous in it's brutality. Buy it. Plastic parts aren't included. The 2024 Brutal Planet Records reissue is the first time "The Horror of Beauty" is available on Vinyl. Fans are treated to just 300 copies pressed on Blood-Red Moon Vinyl, with a 12x12 full color lyrics insert, and it's all been mastered for vinyl by Rob Colwell (In This Moment, Nevermore, Sleeping Giant, Art of Anarchy).

  1. Stage Fright
  2. Made to Measure
  3. American Psycho
  4. Spitfire
  5. Burn the Witch
  6. Radio Silence
  7. Hot in the House of God
  8. Nazimova
  9. Stinkface
  10. Weightless
  11. Bravenet
  12. Ten Minutes to Hollywood
  13. Get Pretty
  14. Rid of Me

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline