Zen Widow: IV-(from one dark age to another)


Release Date: 10-27-2023

SKU: 680270758131

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Zen Widow: IV-(from one dark age to another)

1. Product Details

Intervention Records presents a special collaborative distribution effort with Italian objet-a records, Zen Widow IV - (from one dark age to another). This AAA 180G vinyl release is the fourth recording of Zen Widow, and it places an emphasis on highly melodic, spacious, and engaging treatments of medieval compositions ranging from Gesualdo Da Venosa, the Burana and Chantilly Codex, Welsh Gower folk melodies and texts, as well as the Bach Cello suites. These rich compositions are then reimagined through the lens of a highly accomplished and adventuresome jazz-improvised music trio. Zen Widow is an international improvisational music-jazz super group. They have recorded and performed in clubs and festivals throughout the United States and Europe for that last 20 years. The trio consists of Gianni Gebbia (Bb soprano saxophone - cornettophone) from Sicily, Italy, Matthew Goodheart (grand piano - transducer-actuated gong) from New York, Garth Powell (drums, percussion, and gongs) from Los Angeles, and is joined by special guest Dwight Trible (vocals) for this recording. Their previous release featured trumpet and jazz master Wadada Leo Smith, and like this recording was produced by Joe Harley (Blue Note - Tone Poet Series, Charles Lloyd, and Music Matters Jazz). Garth Powell is also an audio industry legend, and AudioQuest's Sr. Director of Engineering. Garth is the driving force behind the company's multi award-winning line of Niagara series power conditioners and it's Mythical Creatures ultra high-performance cables. As powerful as these performances are, the sonic results created by this production/engineering team is equally stunning - a truly reference quality analogue experience. This recording is captured live-to-two-track analog, 30ips tape at Capitol Studios (studio 'A') by Mike Ross and Steve Genewick. 7 of the 8 tracks are AAA, while the last track alone is finished high-res digital to accommodate the vocal track. Mastering and lacquers cut by Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio, with 180-gram pressings by RTI (Camarillo, California). The single-gatefold jacket is a deluxe Old Style 'tip-on' from Stoughton, designed by Intervention's longtime Art Director Tom Vadakan. Mastering Notes Zen Widow IV is captured live-to-two-track analog, 30ips tape at Capitol Studios (studio 'A') by Mike Ross and Steve Genewick, and then mastered and cut to ;lacquers bye Kevin Gray at CoHEARent Audio. 7 of the 8 tracks are AAA, while the last track alone is finished high-res digital to accommodate the vocal track. Therefore tracks 1-7 are 100% Analog, tape-to-lacquer, with track 8 alone source from high-res. Release Notes Format: 180-Gram Single 33 Pressed at RTI Jacket: Old Style 'Tip-On' Gatefold by Stoughton Tracklist: Side A 1. Gesualdo 04:44 2. Can y Washael 04:52 3. Bachernaught 04:02 4. The Subtle Arts 04:21 Side B 1. Sic Mea Fata 04:29 2. Flete, Fidelis, Anime 08:20 3. Evagrius 02:52 4. Gower Wassail 05:09

  1. Side A
  2. 1. Gesualdo 04:44
  3. 2. Can y Washael 04:52
  4. 3. Bachernaught 04:02
  5. 4. the Subtle Arts 04:21
  6. Side B
  7. 1. Sic Mea Fata 04:29
  8. 2. Flete Fidelis Anime 08:20
  9. 3. Evagrius 02:52
  10. 4. Gower Wassail 05:09

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline