Jovan Ensemble Maljokovic: Uplifting Abyss


Release Date: 10-13-2023

SKU: 710473185172

Product Currently Out of Stock

Browse More Notify Me When Available
Jovan Ensemble Maljokovic: Uplifting Abyss

1. Product Details

What would you do if a never before released jazz funk album from 70s Yugoslavia had dropped suddenly into your arms? An album which sounds like a crate diggers holy grail!? Album full of heavy drum breaks, repetitive bass grooves, superb sax solos and world class jazz arrangements finely intertwined with Yugoslavian folk music elements?! - "PRESS IT!" - That's what we said always striving to present the future of unheard sound of Yugoslavia! With the help from Mr. Cosmic himself (Željko Kerleta), Jovan Maljokovic and his wife Nevenka and, of course, Radio Belgrade who provided the recordings buried deep in their library, here we present Jovan's first vinyl release since 1989 and his album nr. Zero. If this LP was released in 1976, sounding this clear and impressive as it sounds today, it would be up on the pedestal with cult Yugo jazz-funk releases such as Secanja by Miša Blam (also released on Everland) - and believe me - it would burn a whole through your wallet. Don't allow me to get started on the Jovan's ensemble personnel here, represening the crème de la crème of jazz and funk instrumentalists of Yugoslavian Jazz (Goce Dimitrovski, Miloš Krstic, Kire Mitrev, Miodrag Maljokovic, Aleksandar Sanja Ilic, Miša Blam, Uroš Šecerov...). The raw execution, top recording and compositions resembling but not imitating the greatest contemporary western jazz-funk ides of the time, that sound like something that could have been easily released on Mainstream, Columbia, MPS or even be an authentic Kudu hit record if it had been released at the time by Creed Taylor. Just listen to the track A1 Ponor Naviše with a whirlwind of big band arrangement turnovers or track B1- Uspomena (hint: Secanje...) where Jovan takes on the 'Lame donkey' in a strong downbeat rearrangement released just two years after Volker Kriegel published it on his album Lift! (MPS/BASF 1973.). You'll be blown away by the instrumental prowess of the ensemble and Jovan's ideas! - Dr. Smedi Šecer

  1. Ponor naviše – Uplifting Abyss
  2. Prolećna groznica – Spring Fever
  3. Hej krčmarice – Hey Waitress Mama
  4. Blue kum – Blue Best Man
  5. Dan za danom – Day By Day
  6. Uspomena - Memento
  7. Ne dolaziš više u moju ulicu – You Don’t Come by My Street No More
  8. Moja soba – My Room
  9. Sećanje na prošlo leto – Remembering Last Summer
  10. Balada - Ballad1. Ponor naviše – Uplifting Abyss
  11. Prolećna groznica – Spring Fever
  12. Hej krčmarice – Hey Waitress Mama
  13. Blue kum – Blue Best Man
  14. Dan za danom – Day By Day
  15. Uspomena - Memento
  16. Ne dolaziš više u moju ulicu – You Don’t Come by My Street No More
  17. Moja soba – My Room
  18. Sećanje na prošlo leto – Remembering Last Summer
  19. Balada - Ballad

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline