Release Date: 11-18-2022

SKU: 5050580771635

Free Ground Shipping On All Orders

Secure Checkout
100% Money Back
100% Authentic
Easy Returns

1. Product Details

If you ever wondered what ambient music of the 21st century could sound like, then you should explore the musical spheres of 'ifsonever'. This colorful debut-album draws a blueprint of an urban ambient club record of a parallel universe. A collage of beautifully improvised pieces, strictly recorded in 'one takes'. A gripping fusion that brings together the warm analog textures of classic vintage synthesizers and electronic urban ambiences. Trying to appreciate the recent times of silence and deceleration, Daniel Helmer aka ifsonever has quickly developed a tonal language as a solo artist. With a non-compromising approach he would visit his studio, a cozy garden shed, to record one new track a day in strictly analog fashion as 'one takes'. His aim for this project was to capture the innocence and instinctive creative energy of the present moment. These 9 timeless pieces invite the listener to explore hypnotic and meditative atmospheres such as on the opener 'transpose' or on 'jonesy dreams of birds', as well as gloomy and almost mystical sounding tracks such as 'total global' or 'an unexpected error has occurred'. ifsonever is a wonderful amalgamation of organic, laid-back sounds and electronic, club oriented elements. Recorded at a time when social contact was forbidden and culture was at a standstill, many professional musicians felt challenged not to feel useless when performances and sessions in public were cancelled, while the need for expression, participation and communication persisted. What happens when you've read all your books, when you're tired of looking at screens, and when you're digitally saturated? Then the unbearable lightness of being will begin. Daniel Helmer decided to let his creativity flow into a picture depicting that moment in time. He gave himself the opportunity to reflect this period through the creation of music. Not always an easy thing to do when the only social interactions would be cats passing by or the sound of children playing nearby. However that can be exactly the perfect tranquil surrounding to ground oneself in the here and now and draw inspiration from the inside. This self titled album reflects a peaceful journey from start to finish. Two old friends have been invited to contribute overdubs in hindsight. MillianX is a film composer and noise artist, a colleague from the Viennese film academy. Both worked together on the film score for the science fiction movie 'Rubikon' while the album was in it's final stages. So a collaboration was an obvious choice. The creamy arpeggiated synthline created for 'jonesy dreams of birds' was extended by Millianx with some field recordings and a big cloudy synthwave that dips into a vast sea of noise. Guido Spannocchi is a London based jazz musician. Both knew each other for several years but never had the chance to work together. When Daniel Helmer wrote 'an unknown error has occurred' he imagined a saxophone layer to accompany the existing synthline. But when the two musicians finally got together to record in the legendary jazz club 'Porgy & Bess', Guido just let his creativity flow and jammed freely to the track with a totally unique jazz vibe.

  1. A1. transpose
  2. A2. total global
  3. A3. jonesy dreams of birds (feat. millian x)
  4. A4. maelstrom
  5. B1. home
  6. B2. an unexpected error has occurred (feat. guido spannocchi)
  7. B3. counting coins
  8. B4. asleep at the wheel
  9. B5. digital saturation

2. Shipping and Delivery

Shipping is available to the 48 contiguous United States. We are unable to ship to PO Boxes, International locations, or APO/FPO addresses. 

Please ensure your address is entered correctly. We are unable to redirect to an alternate shipping address once an order is placed.If your order contains multiple items, it may ship from different warehouse locations.

Tracking information will be sent as items are shipped.

Allow up to 5 business days for your order to process when calculating delivery dates. 

Note: Additional delays may occur due to severe weather or other carrier delays. 

Standard Shipping: allow 7-10 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Media Mail; all other products via UPS Ground or FedEx Ground.

Expedited Shipping: allow 2-5 business days for delivery. Albums will be shipped via USPS Priority Mail; all other products via UPS 2-Day Air or FedEx 2-Day Air.

Overnight Shipping: allow 1-2 business days for delivery. All products will be shipped via UPS Next Day Air or FedEx Next Day Air. 

3. Return Policy

We offer a 30-day money back guarantee on all products purchased from Victrola.com. All items must be returned as new in their original packaging, including all accessories and cables. Albums must be unopened to receive a refund. Missing items will be charged based on suggested retail prices.

All returns must be accompanied by a valid return authorization number (RMA) issued by Victrola. If an RMA is not obtained prior to shipping, the returned product will be refused and returned to sender.

If the item is no longer wanted, the shipping cost is not refundable and returns must be shipped prepaid by the customer. There is a 15% restocking fee that will be calculated based on the price of the product once the item is refunded.

If the item is defective, a pre-paid shipping label to return the product will be provided, and no restocking fee applies.

To set up a return for refund please visit Customer Care. Be sure to include your order # and reason for your return when submitting your request.

View more information about returns and warranty here.

Ratings and Reviews

Ratings and Reviews Underline